Escapism

 

I went to the library today to return the Imposter book by Davis Bunn and I picked up another novel from the new purchases section. It’s not an author I’m familiar with, but it sounds good.

When I finished the Imposter I told my husband I hated to see it end. It’s almost like I lived there for part of my days.

That’s a throwback to my childhood. I grew up in a neighborhood going through social changes and the library was a haven. Yesterday, my husband and I got asked to meet with a lady and we listened to her for three hours.

It threw my day off. Even as a daydreamer, three hours hit my brain – the time was irretrievably gone. Whether it was of any help to her, only God in heaven knows.

I’ve discovered lately that getting lost in books or movies or puzzles gives a false sense of peace, really it’s just escapism. Reading the Word, taking time to think, prayer – these things revitalize. The other things numb the emotions for a short time.

That must be one more reason God tells us to seek Him while He may be found, (Isaiah 55:6a). He knows what’s best for His creatures. In Deuteronomy_4:29,(KJV), it says, “But if from thence thou shalt seek the LORD thy God, thou shalt find him, if thou seek him with all thy heart and with all thy soul.”

David, whom God called a man after His own heart, had Asaph and his brothers sing this song unto the Lord: 1Chronicles 16:8, (KJV) “Oh give thanks to the LORD; call upon his name; make known his deeds among the peoples!

1Ch 16:9  Sing to him, sing praises to him; tell of all his wondrous works!

1Ch 16:10  Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice! (I added emphasis here.)

1Ch 16:11  Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually!

1Ch 16:12  Remember the wondrous works that he has done, his miracles and the judgments he uttered,

1Ch 16:13  O offspring of Israel his servant, children of Jacob, his chosen ones!

1Ch 16:14  He is the LORD our God; his judgments are in all the earth.

1Ch 16:15  Remember his covenant forever, the word that he commanded, for a thousand generations,

1Ch 16:16  the covenant that he made with Abraham, his sworn promise to Isaac,

1Ch 16:17  which he confirmed to Jacob as a statute, to Israel as an everlasting covenant,

1Ch 16:18  saying, ‘To you I will give the land of Canaan, as your portion for an inheritance.’

1Ch 16:19  When you were few in number, of little account, and sojourners in it,

1Ch 16:20  wandering from nation to nation, from one kingdom to another people,

1Ch 16:21  he allowed no one to oppress them; he rebuked kings on their account,

1Ch 16:22  saying, ‘Touch not my anointed ones, do my prophets no harm!’

1Ch 16:23  Sing to the LORD, all the earth! Tell of his salvation from day to day.

1Ch 16:24  Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples!

1Ch 16:25  For great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised, and he is to be feared above all gods.

1Ch 16:26  For all the gods of the peoples are worthless idols, but the LORD made the heavens.

1Ch 16:27  Splendor and majesty are before him; strength and joy are in his place.

1Ch 16:28  Ascribe to the LORD, O families of the peoples, ascribe to the LORD glory and strength!

1Ch 16:29  Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; bring an offering and come before him! Worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness;

1Ch 16:30  tremble before him, all the earth; yes, the world is established; it shall never be moved.

1Ch 16:31  Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice, and let them say among the nations, ‘The LORD reigns!’

1Ch 16:32  Let the sea roar, and all that fills it; let the field exult, and everything in it!

1Ch 16:33  Then shall the trees of the forest sing for joy before the LORD, for he comes to judge the earth.

1Ch 16:34  Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!

1Ch 16:35  Say also: ‘Save us, O God of our salvation, and gather and deliver us from among the nations, that we may give thanks to your holy name and glory in your praise.

1Ch 16:36  Blessed be the LORD, the God of Israel, from everlasting to everlasting!’” Then all the people said, “Amen!” and praised the LORD.

 

What an incredible song to God.

I hope you are enjoying the life you’ve been given. I am, even when my patience is being stretched or when I’m concerned for others. I thank God that He helps me when I’m weak or weary.

I remember trying to manage my life on my own. I felt like a girl on a ten speed bicycle with flat tires trying to go uphill on a muddy track. Then I handed my life over to Jesus and now I have help when I cry out to Him. My sister, Mary told me that she and her sister-in-law were in a car heading for another car on a snowy day, an imminent collision seemingly the only possibility. She cried out the name of Jesus and it was as if they got lifted in the air and turned about. Our sister-in-law couldn’t confirm it. Yet, over the years, Mary never retracted the story or added to it.

 

In John 12:36, (KJV)it says: “While you have the light, believe in the light, that you may become sons of light.” When Jesus had said these things, he departed and hid himself from them.

Joh 12:37  Though he had done so many signs before them, they still did not believe in him,

Joh 12:38  so that the word spoken by the prophet Isaiah might be fulfilled: “Lord, who has believed what he heard from us, and to whom has the arm of the Lord been revealed?”

Joh 12:39  Therefore they could not believe. For again Isaiah said,

Joh 12:40  “He has blinded their eyes and hardened their heart, lest they see with their eyes, and understand with their heart, and turn, and I would heal them.”

Joh 12:41  Isaiah said these things because he saw his glory and spoke of him.

Joh 12:42  Nevertheless, many even of the authorities believed in him, but for fear of the Pharisees they did not confess it, so that they would not be put out of the synagogue;

Joh 12:43  for they loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God.

 

Some things are hard to understand. I know I heard the gospel many times and pondered long and hard before it finally made sense to me. I felt like I was wrestling with God trying to figure it out.

 

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

