Fear Can Be Good?

 

I got ready to order a refill for my paper planner and turned to an inspirational section of the site. One of the magnets said something like “Do something that scares you.”

The first time I placed an ad for my freelance writing business I was scared. When I’m afraid, I’ll pray for God’s help and speak a Scripture like 2 Timothy 1:7 – “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind.”

When my second client needed an ad on e-bay, I had no experience so my sister came to my meeting site. I remember shaking when she was later than I expected and I was trying to navigate in unknown webpages.

Don’t get me wrong, e-bay is user-friendly. I charged him less for my lack of experience and he appreciated it.

This past weekend, I went to a city zoo with my daughter and her family. The four children are seven years old and younger. One of the kids loves to climb. At one of the big cat displays, she did her normal thing and began to climb the railings and her mom spoke to her. She got off and then a lady my age began to lecture her about it not being safe for the animals. I imagine she’s thinking of the tragedy earlier this year when a little boy got into the gorilla setting in Cincinnati, OH and when he ended up  in the hands of the seventeen year old gorilla they had to shoot the animal. It caused pain to the zoo staff, the family involved and many animal lovers. What a shame. Yet, accidents happen and wild animals cannot be trusted. As a mom, I certainly hope my child or grandchild would be valued above the life of an animal. I am all for taking care of the earth and it’s wildlife. We need each other. I just value a human over a tiger or snake or gorilla or sting-ray or crocodile. That’s why I stay away from them. 🙂

It was the first time when she climbed that I wasn’t afraid because my daughter reprimanded her right away and she got down right away. I told my husband that I felt bad that I was afraid and scolding the children when they disappeared from sight or climbed the guard rails. He said, “Some fear is not bad. They need to know how to stay out of trouble.”

We had a really good time, but there were moments of stress. The three year old was not with his mother. She thought he was with me. We called out and he came bounding around a corner. I appreciated him coming back when he got summoned. I thanked God he was okay.

I told my husband I like it when he’s with us, because he’s firm with the children and he’s got that deep male voice and they listen better to him.

I’ll still go on outings with the grandkids. Every time I do, they’re that much older and more mature. It’s such joy spending time with them. I understand that God watches over them as well, but sometimes I’m not thinking that way. I felt like I owed God an apology. He understands, but one of the frequent admonishments from Him is “Be not afraid.”

In regards to my writing, I’ve stepped out and placed ads for freelance writing in our local free paper. I always pray over that as well. I usually get a paying customer and one lady told me she liked my work when I asked her. That blessed me. Even that caused me a little bit of fear, to pose the question. So, the paper comes out tomorrow. I’ll see if anyone is looking for a wordsmith.

What do you think, is a small amount of fear a good thing?

God bless!

One response

Leave a Reply

