The Tower of Babel

I had the opportunity to listen to a free webinar hosted by Sam Farina, a Coaching Instructor, with guest speaker, Fiona Prince and facilitator Tim, from Mid-western roots. I went online to find his name, but I didn’t see it and I didn’t want to take too much time. You know how the Internet can feel like a few minutes and it’s an HOUR later! Anyway, the webinar is free to me because I took coaching classes with him and his wife in the past.

The webinar covered communicating with people and how to be more effective at it. Sam always asks at the end of instruction times, “What was your biggest takeaway?”

Fiona Prince spoke of the tower of Babel being the place where God confused the languages of the people. An insight I hadn’t considered before: people mis-communicated from that time forward, even when they spoke the same language.

Therefore, it becomes a given that in this world, something will go wrong. Expect it. I actually breathed a sigh of relief after that idea planted itself in my brain.

We try our best but in an imperfect world with imperfect people, whom God values and loves, we can relax and react positively to overcome the things that go wrong.

Fiona Prince mentioned, “We become afraid to say we’ve made a mistake.”

Admitting we’ve goofed can reduce our stress.

I enjoyed learning about personality types and how to interact with others unlike me, but the knowledge that God loves people and understands our foibles – He planted our communication difficulties for our benefit – that encouraged me to no end.

Working out misunderstandings brings folks closer together. It’s worth the effort.

The tower of Babel’s story is found in Genesis 11: 1-9.

May God bless you and yours!

One response

Leave a Reply

