Moving Along

As an aside, Amazon.com sells MP3 versions of children’s songs, and this cover goes with  the song,”He’s Still Working on Me.”He's Still Working On Me

I got a letter in the mail today. I work part time for a company with multiple sites on occasion. I always answer their survey, willing to work at a few different addresses and then I choose the ones closest to home. I really prefer the location I’ve always worked at, but I sincerely am willing to try other places. When I got the new location for my next assignment, I almost panicked. I thought, What’s up with this feeling?

I reminded myself that I am flexible, I like meeting new people, it’ll be fine. James said that we shouldn’t say we’re going to be here or there, but to say, if it’s the Lord’s will, I’ll be in a certain place or make a particular purchase. I’m paraphrasing Jas 4:13, (ESV): Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”—

Jas 4:14  yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.

Jas 4:15  Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.”

Jas 4:16  As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil.

Jas 4:17  So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.

I’ve been telling different people, I’ll see you there when I work again. I told a little girl, “I’ll be working with your grandmother pretty soon.”

Oops!

Another thing I reminded myself of is that Jesus said to be anxious for nothing. In Phil. 4:6,7 the (ESV) says: do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Php 4:7  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

So, when things don’t go the way I expect them to, I turn to prayer and do my best to hand things over to God. I whisper or speak aloud, “I trust You, God.”

Then I remember the good things God has done over the years in my life. Last night I got thinking about my earthly dad. I told a young man that I waited on in the library that I never went hungry unless I wanted to, growing up. I know that is a blessing. My dad worked hard to provide for his family. King David wrote in Psa 37:25  I have been young, and now am old, yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken or his children begging for bread, (ESV).

Jesus said in Matthew 6 that if we seek Him first, and His kingdom and righteousness all these things will be added unto us. He’d been talking about clothing and food. Then in the following verse, Matt. 6:34, (NASB), He said, “Therefore do not be anxious for tomorrow; for tomorrow will take care of itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

So, I choose to move along with Jesus, asking Him to help me not to be anxious when changes come. Change is a part of life. I know that, it’s just that I don’t always relax and go with the flow. “God’s still working on me,” as I’ve heard children sing many years ago on a tape of songs collected for other kids to sing along with them.

I used to love the high energy of songs on a “Bullfrogs and Butterflies” tape I bought for my little ones. In searching for the “God’s Still Working On Me” tape I noticed that the “Bullfrogs and Butterflies” have been digitally re-mastered from the originals from back in the day.Bullfrogs & Butterflies: God Is My Friend CD This is from  Christian  Book Distributors.

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

