Givers Receive

A lady from our church is generous. The other day she gave me a thick adult coloring book with Bible verses in it to give to one of the ladies at the nursing home. I have it ready to go for our Bible study tomorrow morning. I never know who will be there, but it’s usually a pleasant experience.

This same lady gave her sister and brother-in-law a used car when she was ready to get a newer vehicle herself. They felt such gratitude, they’d tell everyone they ran into about her gift, it seemed. The other day she also brought in some tomatoes from her garden to share with us, even though she couldn’t stay. She was on her way to the hospital with a friend to pick up the gal’s husband. He’d had surgery and they needed to make a minor repair later in the city north of us. This friend of hers went to the hospital with the lady from our church, every other day for months while she recovered from an illness.

This lady was so pleased to be there for her and her husband. I’ll bet her friend sat by her side for all those days because they’d been there for each other over the years. I imagine their circle of kindnesses have gone around and around for some decades now. There are people where we live that have stayed put for all of their lives. I can’t even fathom that. It’s just not been our lot in life to stay in one place, although my husband would have liked to. Sometimes it seemed better to move on to a better job or a different opportunity.

I was reading a blogger yesterday that quoted Augustine of Hippo. He said someone who’s never traveled is like opening a book to read and stopping after turning one page. That’s how I remember it.

I was trying to find the site, but my computer is acting weird. (It was logicalquotes.com). I hope I can reach WordPress so I can post this blog tonight.

Anyway, I don’t know this lady at my church well enough to understand the scope of her finances, but I do know what the Word of God says about giving to God and to those He cares about:

Mal 3:10, (ESV),  Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. And thereby put me to the test, says the LORD of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.

Mal 3:11  I will rebuke the devourer for you, so that it will not destroy the fruits of your soil, and your vine in the field shall not fail to bear, says the LORD of hosts.

Mal 3:12  Then all nations will call you blessed, for you will be a land of delight, says the LORD of hosts.

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

