Sleep Deprived

I went to the doctors office today for a regular check up and she talked about sleeping patterns. I’ve been staying up too late lately, what else is new? Craig waits and then he gives up and goes to bed and that motivates me to get moving.

She is a doctor to both of us and we happened to have our appointments today, his at 8:00 a.m. and mine at 2:00 p.m. She told me that married couples should go to bed at the same time. So, I hoped to do that today, but responsibilities and play time arise . My play time is reading a novel, and people come over and the next thing I know, it’s almost midnight.

I have noticed that when I drink caffeine after 4:00 p.m. I lay awake longer than normal. So, I’m being careful of that.

I have heard that if you stay up past midnight on a consistent basis, weight gain becomes a given. So, on that note, I’m going to close here so I can shave off some minutes of my awake time.

“We are fearfully and wonderfully made,’ it says in the Old Testament in Psalm 139:14, (NRSV).

When I’m paying attention to that, I try to avoid unhealthy foods and walk more and get to bed at a decent hour and avoid unnecessary stress.

May God bless you.

5 responses

  1. My wife almost never goes to bed at the same time with me. She says she can’t shut her brain off, and often stays up well past midnight, reading books or surfing the web. Very frustrating! I hope you can accomplish your sleep goal!

Leave a Reply

