Events in a Day

 

I woke up this morning with chores and responsibilities on my mind. After I ate some breakfast, I started doing some of them, but I wanted to get into the Word. I looked for a Bible study book and did some short items on my list here and there.

Later, I began hunting online for a Dragon Speak system by Nuance for my computer because after placing an ad in the Shopper, a man called for me to transpose something and to do some light editing. He wanted to know how fast a typist I am, and I had to tell him that I don’t know. I write about six days a week and type most of those days, so I’m not a slow typist. My sister is a professional typist and I mentioned that I am not as fast as she is. So, he told me he had this Dragon Speak system on his computer that enables him to speak the information into it, so he doesn’t have to type it all out from the notebooks.

I asked why he doesn’t keep at it. He doesn’t have the time. He’s hired me to do this project for him and he bought the software for my computer, an upgraded version than his own since I’m a writer. I gotta tell you. I felt blessed by God. He went on to say that in his business he does not buy items that are used by householders. He buys professional quality.  Then he paid by PayPal, so I had to set up a business account to receive payments from customers. That took some time.

Around five-thirty, my husband left for a meeting and I got thinking I’d start supper for when he got home. He had a late lunch. I called my daughter to see how her day was going and she asked if she’d called me. “No.”

“I wanted to invite you to a ladies’ house that is hosting a Bible study with a missionary couple from India. It’s dish to pass for the evening meal.”

“What time is the meeting?” I asked. At 6:30.

I had started a sink full of dishes that I was determined to finish. I told her I’d show up, but I might be late. So, I started a rice dish for the gathering and a crockpot of soup for my husband’s supper. He likes soup. Cut up an onion for this pot, cut more for the crockpot. Add butter and oil to the onions on the stove for the rice dish and stir like mad. Leave that and start chopping carrots and celery.

Then the phone rings. It’s my daughter. Can I pick up my son-in-law at the grocery store? His car died. Okay, tell him I’ll be at least ten minutes.

Later on, in the dark I find my son-in-law’s car easily enough and he’s inside. He brings his store bought salads since they both worked that day. As we get closer to the home, I begin to realize that I haven’t been there in such a long time, that I would have gotten lost. He knows the way.

Sunday night his car broke down, so they attended our evening service at church. They said it was a God ordained breakdown. They were tired and would have driven right past our building and gone home.

Tonight, as I dropped him off I told him if he hadn’t been in the car, I would have been in trouble. He said it was another God ordained breakdown and he was sure his car would start. I waited to see. It started up immediately and off he went. They almost bought a car a few weeks ago, and God prevented them from buying it, it was a scam. Fortunately, they bought the wrong kind of pre-payment card and the scammers couldn’t cash those. The company refunded all of their money. God watches over them!

I didn’t intend to go to a Bible study, but I got blessed big time. I hope if your day gets rearranged by the Lord or by circumstances beyond your control that it will work out for good.

Romans 8:28 is one of my favorite verses:  Rom 8:28, (KJV)  And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

May God bless you.

3 responses

  1. Amen to that Constance. I’ve read so many verses, especially in the old testament where God tells of his plans for us for good and not evil. As I was looking for one I came across the KJV verse and beside it was the NIV. Such subtle words had changed and what I find significant was the change in NIV where they use the words “prosper you”. I sat here a moment and wondered if that’s when the false prosperity gospel teaching came into being. I would not doubt that these “updates” are in fact attempts to water down and change meanings and intent of God’s original words. But even in this we trust that God’s Holy Spirit will teach us and guide us in truth. He promised to write his word in the hearts and minds of men. Praise God, we can always count of Him to show us the way and teach us in the paths of righteousness.

    I’ve pasted the verse comparisons here. (Jeremiah 29:11)
    KJV 11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

    NIV 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

    Trust in the Lord and love him with all your heart, mind, body and soul. He is able to do all things and nothing is impossible for our Lord who loves us. Blessings.

    • Amen! Thank you for that encouragement. My husband just told someone that when the Bible talks about prosperity it leads to spiritual prosperity and being in good standing with God. It doesn’t always equate with money. We take things out of context sometimes, too, he tells me. If I understand it properly, NIV translates thought for thought. KJV translates word for word the best it can, or a literal translation. No language can be exact because there are words that don’t translate well. Cultural differences interfere. As you said, the Holy Spirit is over all and He keeps us. I guess that’s my interpretation of what you said. Lol. Here is what you said, “Trust in the Lord and love him with all your heart, mind, body and soul. He is able to do all things and nothing is impossible for our Lord who loves us.” Hallelujah!
      Blessings to you as well!

      • Exactly 🙂
        When our hearts and minds and souls seek him and ask him and reach out to Him, he is faithful to answer. He is eager to fill us with His love abounding and with his wisdom and understanding.
        Thank you and praise be to our great Father!

Leave a Reply

