Borrow or Buy

Where the Wild Rose Blooms Rocky Mountain Memories - Wick, Lori - Paperback

I went to the library to borrow some books for research. I read a comment by author Jerry Jenkins about relaxing at night with a light novel. So, I picked up a book by Lori Wick from the Rocky Mountain Memories Series, the first one, called Where the Wild Rose Blooms. The book was published by Harvest House Publishers and copyrighted in 1996 by Lori Wick.

It’s light reading compared to the non-fiction books I chose, but this book reminds me to read the Bible and to treat others as I’d like to be treated. She weaves these ideas into the story in a way that I appreciate.

Another book I took out of the library that I blogged about before is written by Michael Hyatt and Daniel Harkavy entitled, Living Forward: A Proven Plan to Stop Drifting and Get the Life You Want. It’s published by Baker Books from Grand Rapids, MI and copyrighted in 2016. As I went through the book, I was offered an opportunity to do some things online if I’d purchased the book and I was interested in doing those things. Also, Christian Book Distributor was announcing a grand sale, and this book happened to be half their regular price. So, I bought the book.Living Forward Book

I’m keeping the original copy from the library until the purchased one shows up so I can keep working on their exercises. When I started it, I got thinking I may want to buy my own. My husband has used Stephen R. Covey’s books on self-management for years and a small portion of this new book is similar to Mr. Covey’s book, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons of Personal Change. It was copyrighted in 1989 and published by Fireside, a division of Simon & Schuster, New York, NY.The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.jpg

I read the 7 Habits book, but for some reason I never finished it. Not ready for it, I guess. I use the Franklin Covey planner every year and it would behoove me to read the 7 Habits book. Maybe I will when I finish the Living Forward book.

I see why the authors of Living Forward suggest the reader take a day off from their routine and work on the life plan they suggest. I began it last Thursday when I had a full half day free to myself. I’m wordier than many, I’m sure. So, the first exercise took me a while and struck my emotions. I hope to work on it again tomorrow and hopefully get quite a bit of it done. I just got hired to do a project and I am definitely starting that tomorrow. Those are two of my top three priorities. I’m reading my Bible more, with God’s help.

Do you buy books you started to read in the library? I’ve purchased at least four this year. Two of them were writing books. One was a Bible study, and then this latest one is on goal setting and life plans. I rarely purchase a fiction book that I borrow unless it’s really long and I can’t get it finished in time. I tend to buy reference books. I know there’s lots of info on the internet. I just like books, what can I say?

May God bless!

Leave a Reply

