Squirrel or Starling?

I looked out to the backyard and saw dozens of starlings swoop down to fill the grass and gravel. They pecked the wet ground looking for worms or grubs.

A lone squirrel frolicked across the edge of green and routed the birds.

When they swarmed together and lifted to flee, the squirrel scrambled closer to the house. I wondered if he knew he scared them off.

Seconds later, he sat on the porch steps railing with his tail placed over his head like a rain hat. The underside of his tail looked scrawny with a ring of fur around the skin. It reminded me of a new dust mop from a flim-flam salesman with lots of the fringe gone.

A thought crossed my mind. Are the starlings like demons, gathering together to wreak havoc? Are Christians like the squirrel? Christians carrying God’s light within them, do the demons flee from the light? Then the Christian completely unaware huddles in the rain, trying to extinguish the fiery darts of the enemy in their own strength.

Watching the bright eyed little guy, before pondering theological things, I kept thinking, if I were a squirrel, I could tell the other squirrel to quit getting rained on and stop shivering in the cold. Come onto the porch landing under the roof. It’s warmer by the house than in the open air.

When I turned my mind to spiritual warfare, I got thinking of the Scripture in the Old Testament that say a small number of righteous people will send a large number of evil people running.

Lev 26:1  “You shall not make idols for yourselves or erect an image or pillar, and you shall not set up a figured stone in your land to bow down to it, for I am the LORD your God.

Lev 26:2  You shall keep my Sabbaths and reverence my sanctuary: I am the LORD.

Lev 26:3  “If you walk in my statutes and observe my commandments and do them,

Lev 26:4  then I will give you your rains in their season, and the land shall yield its increase, and the trees of the field shall yield their fruit.

Lev 26:5  Your threshing shall last to the time of the grape harvest, and the grape harvest shall last to the time for sowing. And you shall eat your bread to the full and dwell in your land securely.

Lev 26:6  I will give peace in the land, and you shall lie down, and none shall make you afraid. And I will remove harmful beasts from the land, and the sword shall not go through your land.

Lev 26:7  You shall chase your enemies, and they shall fall before you by the sword.

Lev 26:8  Five of you shall chase a hundred, and a hundred of you shall chase ten thousand, and your enemies shall fall before you by the sword.

Lev 26:9  I will turn to you and make you fruitful and multiply you and will confirm my covenant with you.

As I read further, God tells what will happen to those that disobey Him and worship false gods and make idols. Then, it’s the opposite. People will be afraid, crops will fail and enemies will overtake them. Yowza.

I also considered Elijah. He thoroughly defeated the prophets of Baal through God’s great power, and when the evil queen Jezebel threatened him, he ran away feeling defeated. He was hungry and exhausted, and that is exactly when the enemy of our soul will hit, when we are weak. God sent an angel to feed him. God showed Elijah that he was not alone. Many people believed in God like he did. It’s in 1 Kings 18 and 1 Kings 19. More and more of the Old Testament stories are being proved true by reputable historians of their day and by archaeological findings in our day.

After the days of Jesus, Josephus was an honored historian and he wrote of Jesus. Josephus was not a follower of Jesus, just an impartial observer.

Anyway, I hope this finds you blessed by God.

One response

  1. NIce 🙂
    I love it when our minds imagine the spiritual things of our world. Really quite fascinating and often provocative and profound.
    Indeed in the years to come, we will see even more of the evil spirits and demons arise and darkness will sweep the land, possessing animals and people that are not sealed until God and His spirit. Sadly those who don’t want to choose, have already chosen. People who come to the light and truth of God in these times will be given great authority and power over the spirits and demons much like it was in the book of Acts. Everything will have come full circle. Praise be to our Lord God Father and Savior Yeshua-Jesus for His kingdom will be coming soon. The Lion of Judah returns.
    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

