Direction

Product Details

I’ve been reading a book by T. Davis Bunn, now writing as Davis Bunn, called Promises to Keep. Bethany House Publishers published it in 1991 and T. Davis Bunn copyrighted it in 1991. I read it before, but I wanted to read it again. I’m learning about politics and lobbyists and the way laws come into being or bills are buried so they disappear. I didn’t see this the last time I read the book because there was so much to the story. It covers some uncomfortable issues. It makes me aware that I don’t know what the laws are that this fictionalized tale speaks of. The author leaves footnotes to tell of actual testimonies and persuasive arguments.

This book emphasizes the power of prayer. I received a newsletter from an evangelist who came to our church a few times. He asked that his readers would please pray; that God is in control of the elections and of our country and of our world. Both he and T. Davis Bunn remind their readers that what might seem impossible is not impossible to God.

Luke 18:27, (ESV) quotes Jesus here:  But he said, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.”

In this instance He is speaking of how hard it is for a rich person to come to the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, in other words, to be saved.

Also, in Luke 1:37, (ESV) says: “For nothing will be impossible with God.”

In this particular conversation, Mary, the mother of Jesus is being told that her elderly aunt, Elizabeth is pregnant. Then the information that nothing will be impossible with God is declared.

I take great comfort in God’s Word. He is all powerful and He is in control. Nothing is impossible to Him, even though He allows things to happen that break His heart because He gives mankind free will. Yet, I recall many times over my life getting a small nudging to turn this way or don’t eat that, because God was trying to direct my paths so I’d avoid injury.

Once was early on in my walk with God. I kept having insistent thoughts to turn down a particular street or to try and sell a school fundraising item to a family on another side street. I would rationalize the ideas away. Why would I turn here, it’s out of my way?

I don’t want to bother that family; they’re putting their groceries away, I decided. So, I headed the straightest route home with my elementary-aged daughter and encountered a fierce dog. I froze while she flapped her arms around and said, “Mommy, look, a dog.”

I couldn’t even speak. The dog bit her and I developed a strong fear of dogs. I then understood why I kept having these promptings to go another way. Thankfully, it just bit once and the owners came running out of their garage to whisk it away. I learned a lesson that day. If I sense God leading me in a way that’s a little out of the ordinary, I just take it, most of the time. I’m still learning.

I’m praying about the next big project God wants me to write. “Please direct me, I pray in Jesus’ name.”

May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

