Invited

Our Wednesday morning ladies’ Bible study group started Chapter Two of Uninivted, Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out, and Lonely. It’s written by Lysa TerKeurst, published by Nelson Books in 2016 and copyrighted by TerKeurst Foundation in 2016.

Uninvited: Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out and Lonely  -     By: Lysa TerKeurst

A young lady from another church asked if she could come to our Bible study. I told her, “Oh, yeah, you are welcome.”

Our oldest member is 89 years old, most are in their sixties and seventies, and I wondered how she’d feel about that. Well, after I asked her, she said she’s in a church filled with young families with lots of kids running around. As she glanced around, she didn’t see any people her parents’ age or older. She told me that she’s looking for wisdom from women who’ve been in the faith lots of years. When I told her I’d only ordered nine books, I might have to get another one for her, she said it was no problem; she’d already ordered one for her Kindle.

I got a little nervous when I first started the class on Wednesday. I’m so grateful for the following verses in the book of Philippians.

Philippians 4: 8-9, (NRSV): Finally, beloved, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Keep on doing the things that you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, and the God of peace will be with you.

I told her one rule, “What’s said in the room stays in the room.”

I love how vulnerable Lysa TerKeurst is when delving in to the events in her life, yet she doesn’t camp there. We’re not that far into the book, but I assume if the most difficult scenarios were listed matter of factly with a quick comma separating each label, that she’ll cover things in depth only when necessary. That suited me fine.

After our class ended, I asked if our newcomer would come again. She said, “yes,” and I thought, yay.

I wondered if she had any advice for us and she didn’t. I mentioned that we need her as much as she needs us. Younger people may see the world differently than the older generations and it’s helpful for us to stretch. When I got my haircut last week, the beautician commented on the importance of individuality. I’d just heard a preaching on YouTube by Alistair Begg. He said something about being united is not the same as being uniform. We can get along and not be all the same.

It was easy for me to remark to the younger lady that it would be boring if we were all alike. I don’t believe she’d say she’s a follower of Jesus Christ. She gets me thinking and I get her thinking. That’s good for me, too.

The hairdresser is in her forties, the young lady at Bible study is in her twenties, and I’m older than both of them. I gladly invite them to interact and I hope that the Lord is pleased with our friendships. It’s His idea that people be united as Jesus and the Father are one, with love and kindness guiding them.

May God bless you.

One response

  1. As I published this post, I realized I wrote about something that violated our “one rule.” So, I quickly edited it. I don’t know how many might have read it before I got it edited. That is the biggest disadvantage of trying to blog every day. I apologize!

Leave a Reply

