Time Flies, Two

Hi! This is the Monday following Thanksgiving in the USA, and I’m recovering from lack of sleep, too much to eat, and lots of company over to our home.

Sunday evening when I headed for church, I left my oldest daughter and her family packing their belongings. They’d arrived Wednesday night. I join the worship team on Sunday nights, but I stayed home until just before the service started, so I expected them to say, “No practice, no singing.”

When the leader invited me to join them, I repeated the rules. She said, “Rules, shmules.”

Well, I’m unsure of the spelling, but she’s a Christian not worried about appearances, but more about the heart of God and what does He want. Not that she’s perfect, so she’s told me, but she’s a delightful person and I gladly joined the team. When I didn’t know the song, I sang softly. Come to find out, since I didn’t arrive in time for a sound check, my microphone was off. 🙂

When we talked later, she asked me about it. I thought it was off once in a while and at other moments, I decided it might be on after all. Anyway, how do you tell the guy doing sound that the mike is off without disturbing everyone? So, I sang and was content in the knowledge that if I flubbed up, no one would know it. 🙂

When we got home Sunday night, it felt so quiet. We had four grandchildren since Wednesday and on Sunday afternoon, three more grandkids joined us. On Thursday evening two single moms came over and their time overlapped. So that day we had the four grandchildren and then two boys ages seven and three, plus a sixteen month old.

The two boys used to attend our church on a regular basis until I told the mom about a church that might interest her. They found it a better fit so now we only see them sporadically. The boys really bonded to my husband. He fell asleep on the recliner so the oldest boy quietly crawled up next to him and played a hand held game as my husband slept. Then the three year old climbed up on the other side of him, which woke my husband up. So he began to tickle and gently rough house and they were delighted. He loves kids and they love him.

On Saturday, my older brother and his wife came by to see the family. They had a gift for my oldest daughter and she appreciated that. My house is the central location for the two families, so when she is planning to arrive, I try to give them a heads up in case they can free their schedule.

On Monday morning, I told my husband that the time seemed to fly! No more hide ‘n go seek – I don’t find as many places to squeeze into as an adult. 🙂 No more sleeping bags stretched out. No more crying, no more laughing, no more hugs, no more chasing the three year old trying to get a hug. No more scolding the boys to get their toys out of the kitchen.

As I left for church Sunday night, knowing it was an early goodbye, I told my daughter I wouldn’t be crying when they left this time. “We’ll see you later for the Christmas play,” she said.

That helps to know we’ll see them again.

I often think where does the time go? I didn’t get as much time in the Word with them here, so I made up for it today. I asked the Lord if there was any place in particular He wanted me to read. I waited quietly – nothing. Then I read a while and asked again. This time I thought I heard Revelation seven. It felt incomplete, so I asked again and this time thought it was Revelation 1:7 which is: Rev 1:7, (GNB),  Look, he is coming on the clouds! Everyone will see him, including those who pierced him. All peoples on earth will mourn over him. So shall it be!

This made me feel as though Jesus is coming back soon. Then I read Rev 1:3, (GNB),  Happy is the one who reads this book, and happy are those who listen to the words of this prophetic message and obey what is written in this book! For the time is near when all these things will happen.

God’s timetable may seem slow and then, suddenly it speeds up and His purposes are being accomplished.

There’s an old saying, “Time flies when you’re having fun.”

That time warp happened to me this weekend when I got to enjoy people to the maximum. Then on Sunday night the worship leader prayed for Jerusalem because there are fires burning there. I asked for prayer for TN because I heard there are fires raging there, some of which have been set by arsonists. A friend told me today that GA is also on fire and there has been some arson there as well. So I’m praying that God will send rain and that people will look to God for reassurance from their fears.

I missed blogging. When I visited my daughter last month I tried to blog ahead of time and schedule it to appear on the chosen date, but it didn’t happen. So, I didn’t bother this time.

I blogged once while they were here. After that, I tried again but the internet was down. I think one of the grandchildren hit a button that disconnects the internet on the top of the computer case, if I understood my husband correctly. Another day I tried, but I’d let one of the family members borrow my computer and it took a long time before it was free. By then, I was tired.

Well, I hope this finds you well. May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

