What Stays, What Goes?

Yesterday I mentioned that it was time to eat healthier. My body is demanding less empty calories. So we shopped mostly in the produce aisle tonight. My husband has learned lots of cooking tips from the food shows available through television or computer. I bought some of the vegetables on sale. That helps a lot.

When I got home, there was a message on the answering machine that I wanted to act on. So, I called them back as I put the groceries away. I forgot to buy rice, so I’m going to put that on the ongoing grocery list. I finished handling the mail after putting the groceries away. My daughter came over because she had to babysit a toddler and had asked me if she could spend the time at my house. I told her yes, but I didn’t jot down the date. So, I put aside some writing I wanted to do and did some housework, grocery list making and babysitting with her. He’s such a cutey and very easy going. One of my daughter’s friends asked if there’s an older version of him available anywhere. 🙂

After his grandmother picked him up, I made plans to return my library book and then visit my husband at work for a moment to see if he wanted to shop with me. He was able to clear his schedule so I didn’t have to drive a ways alone in the dark both to and then from.

A few minutes ago, I looked at the clock and it was getting late. “Blog,” I asked my husband, “or work for a client on a project?”

“It’s up to you.”

I chose to blog and then figured I’ll try to get a lot done on Saturday. My Friday is booked up.

When we decided to spend more time preparing healthier foods, I knew it would take more time to prepare the meals and I’m willing to do that. Now I’m thinking, what goes and what stays?

I need my time in the Word of God and sitting quietly at His feet, that’s a no brainer for me.

I need sleep, another no brainer.

I’d like to exercise regularly, that should be a no brainer, but sometimes I don’t fit it in. I do try and park my car far from the store or make extra trips up and down stairs just to move and get the blood circulating more.

Well, you get where I’m going here. Something is going to have to get downsized or removed from my activities. I don’t sew like I used to, already. I enjoy watching television with my husband, but I’m thinking I can cut some of that. I don’t watch a lot already, so a little less won’t hurt.

Have you got something in mind you want to do, but now you realize you may have to consider what stays and what goes? Thinking is so crucial in life and there are times when I know that I’m moving on autopilot and not thinking what is non-essential so I can cut it loose.

Jesus told the crowds that were following Him in Luke 14 that they needed to consider the cost of becoming His disciple. He didn’t make it sound easy. Then He told a story of a man building a tower – how he first sits down to calculate the expense of it to see if he has enough to complete it.

God always tells people to use their minds and their reason and to seek Him and to seek wisdom.

Well anyway, those are my thoughts tonight. I hope I get to blog tomorrow, but if I don’t start early, it’s not going to happen. Thought I’d just give a heads up that it’s iffy tomorrow.

I hope this finds you well. You never know what a day will bring, so I hope you are making the most of your moments and your choices and your life. Me, too. 🙂

May God bless.

2 responses

  1. A timely post for me, Constance. I’ve been reflecting on priority changes for 2017. Appreciated your reminder: “God always tells people to use their minds and their reason and to seek Him and to seek wisdom.” That’s exactly what I need to do as I look ahead into the new year. Thank you! Also, another thank you for becoming a follower of my blog, From the Inside Out. I pray you’ll find the posts meaningful.

Leave a Reply

