Strange Beginnings

My husband had to go somewhere this morning and I needed to be somewhere else a couple of hours later. Just as he headed for the door, he received a text. A close friend of his and mine with diabetes woke up with clammy skin, a sign of low blood sugar. His wife gave him a cookie to eat and prepared other food that he ate. She began a chore as he sat down to recover, told her he didn’t feel well and then he left his body for a walk into eternity with Jesus.

Yesterday, I looked through the obituaries because someone that used to work for my husband had passed away and I found two others that I knew, one my next door neighbor, who moved closer to family, and the other more of an acquaintance from my time working at the library.

That’s a lot of deaths in a couple of weeks’ time.

A lady came to the door looking to get into the building I had the key for, and I gave her the secretary’s office key instead of the church key. Thank goodness I came to my senses quickly and called out to her before she drove away.

I’ve been calling people at different times of the day to let them know, so that they don’t hear of it early in their day tomorrow in church. I’ve also asked people on the prayer chain to pray for the recently bereaved lady. She too is a friend of ours.

She will have lots of support, of that I’m sure. It’s true what God’s word says, Gal 6:7, (KJV):  Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

Gal 6:8  For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.

Gal 6:9  And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

Many say, “What goes around comes around,” which is a paraphrase of God’s Word saying you reap what you sow.

She and her husband went out of their way to help others when they felt that they should. Probably many more than I’m aware of had reason to thank them for their help and for their generosity. I had an elective surgery early this year and of all the people I know, she was the only one to visit me besides my husband. People often asked her husband to help cart this or that in his pickup truck, and he did.

So, I’m sure she’ll have people help her figure out what to do. She lives in a snowier area than we do, and he took care of snow removal. In the summer, he took care of cutting the lawn. She may have to figure out how to use the mower or hire someone when the warm weather hits. I feel sure folks will visit often and give her a helping hand.

Tomorrow, our church celebrates Christmas and the birth of the King as a little bundle of joy. In the upcoming services I’ve been asked to play and sing Christmas music since the Christmas carols are a lot more challenging on the piano than they are on the guitar. I have a few in mind and I need to choose some more. Others will sing with me, and I am grateful for that!

Snow is heading to New York State. I’m hoping tomorrow will have a normal beginning, middle and end. If we get too much snow, we may have to cancel our services. We’ll have to wait and see what the day brings. One never knows.

May God bless you!

5 responses

    • Thank you for your condolences. My next door neighbor from years ago had a daughter living in OH. She said we got the same weather that they got, but a week later. I think it was a full week. You’re on the Great Lakes too, I’m thinking. Yes?

    • I understand. Thank you for the condolences. He was a songwriter and I used to ask him if he’d get a musician to write out his music for him. He talked about buying software that would do it automatically for him as it heard him perform. He never got around to it.
      He wrote hundreds of songs. I know three melodies. He made one CD and a friend of theirs used to play piano while he and his wife sang. She said, “All those songs and I only have the words.”
      Ah well , whatcha gonna do? One of those things that it behooves one to let go of. I pray God will comfort you in this season of loss.

Leave a Reply

