Habitually Moving

I’ve been working more on a transposing assignment for a man who hopes it’ll be done by Christmas. We miscommunicated at the beginning so it’ll be quite the feat if I get it done. I just decided to check out how many more pages are in the handwritten notebook and couldn’t find it. Did I put it away and the zip drive, too?

Yes, I did. There are times when I’m driving and my mind is on something else and suddenly I’ll realize I’m almost at my destination. I guess I tidy up on autopilot as well.

When I went to figure out my day in the planner, the date jumped out on me. I know Christmas is on Sunday, but how can Sunday suddenly be less than seven days away. So, I’d better get a package in the mail tomorrow. I’d better get my cards signed tomorrow or Wed. I’d better get up earlier in my day before the phone starts ringing so I can type for my client.

I’ve been handing things over to God this week and hopefully they’ll stay there. One of those things was getting stuff done. I’ll do my best and leave the results up to Him.

One thing I like about helping people with their memoirs is the fun of seeing their choices. I’ve had clients with interesting lives and sometimes I imagine myself in their shoes and wonder if I would have done the same thing. Would I have had the stamina and courage and enthusiasm to do what they did?

We’re all wired so differently.

I’ve been singing a friend’s song this week and it reminded me that I wrote a song once and gave it to a fellow to see if he could come up with the music. I hope my copy is in the file cabinet. I begin the organization class in January, not too soon. I’ve been working on organizing since November, but this month has been more hit and miss.

I decided when I was a busy mom to stop stressing over Christmas. I didn’t think God wanted me to go huge on gift giving since His Word says to do all things in moderation, (Php_4:5, (KJV):  Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.

His Word also says not to owe people anything but love. Rom_13:8 , (KJV): Owe no man any thing, but to love one another: for he that loveth another hath fulfilled the law.

I don’t mind being on autopilot if I’m throwing the garbage into the outdoor cans, but if someone stops at the house, I don’t want to immediately think of the ten things on my list and start re-ordering the timetable and miss out on them. I want to be fully there.

I hope this finds you well and at peace. May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

