An Unusual Day

Today we usually have a Ladies’ Bible study, but I suggested we get together for fellowship and a craft day. I invited a recent widow who attends another church via voicemail on her cell phone and didn’t hear from her.

As I entered our church, there she sat with a few other ladies. I brought sewing supplies and books and Bible and tea, etc. Later, I read Psalm 34 and spied her wiping away a few quiet tears. Then when most people were leaving a gal arrived who hadn’t slept much the night before. So I decided to camp there in the kitchen and visit for a few moments before cutting out a pillow cover with a sports motif on it for a Christmas gift.

She had received a cute fleece scarf from one of the ladies and decided that would make great gifts for her grandchildren, so she wanted to go to a somewhat local fabric store. If we have any stores within a half hour drive, most are quilting stores with 100 % cotton material only. I want to make my grandson a pillow with the super hero The Flash on it. I thought possibly the Lord was saying to go with her, so I did. We ended up going further to a Walmart because two fabric stores were closed today. So I bought an extension cord and two boxes of Christmas cards.

I am quite the optimist. It’s already December 21, 2016 and last night I realized that when my computer got cleaned up earlier this year or late last year, my Christmas addresses got deleted. So, last night, as exhausted as I was, I promised myself a half hour transposing the addresses from my paper-bearing planner to the computer. I don’t know if I used an electronic planner if it would be transferable to my computer. I don’t want to know at the moment. Lol

So off we went to the fabric department and while she chose fabric I texted my son in another state and asked if a check for his little guy would work. I kept looking for The Flash fabric and just couldn’t find it anywhere. He has a birthday after Christmas, so I’m going to get online to see if I can find some within reason. I bought a pillow form at the big box store, so I’m a third of the way there.

I cut out a purse for my granddaughter, but lent the sewing machine to the other lady and I took the time to type for my client. I believe his project will be done by Saturday and I even texted him to see if he can meet to pick it up.

So here I am at our church typing this blog at 11:00 p.m. Very unusual – in fact I’ve never done this before in my life. So, now I’m ready to pack up the computer and head for home. Then I’ll send it out and set a small goal for further addresses. I mailed three Christmas cards out today to out of state family and one cousin’s in Canada. There’s no way she’ll receive hers before the twenty-fifth. I try to give hers more time to make it, but if I don’t write it down for late November, it doesn’t get done.

I can’t wait to get started on our dis-organized support group. I’ll write more about that at another time. Right now, I need to hit the road.

May God bless you. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

