Music Heals the Heart

I went to a sing along gathering tonight to accompany a friend and my husband didn’t mind having some alone time.

She’s grieving so at the end of the night, she told me the music lifted her up and the words soothed her. I’m paraphrasing, but I had to agree with her.

My husband and I went to another friend’s church for a viewing earlier today. She lost her husband this week to lung cancer. So when I got home, we had two large flower arrangements on our kitchen table to put into our church for Sunday.

I’m so glad I got to sing worship songs to God, some new and some old. The hymn, “It is Well With My Soul” was written after a man lost part of his family on an ocean voyage while he stayed in his country to attend to duties. I went to Wikipedia for information which is not always reliable, and this is a quote from their site: ““It Is Well With My Soul” is a hymn penned by hymnist Horatio Spafford and composed by Philip Bliss.”

Such a beautiful song written in the 1870’s, it’s a timeless reminder of trusting God.

We were asked to pray for a young man outside of us with a couple of friends. My son-in-law prayed a heartfelt prayer for this young man. Those of us inside agreed with him in prayer. Shortly thereafter, the people came inside and this young man decided to receive Jesus as his Lord and Savior. We rejoiced, and from what I understand angels rejoice in heaven when a person receives Jesus!

I hope it is well with your soul tonight. May God bless you.

 

 

3 responses

  1. I’m familiar with the story of Mr. Spafford and this song he wrote. It is one of my favorites too. It is a great reminder of how we need to trust in God no matter what comes into or goes out of our lives. Thank you for sharing this…

    Steve

Leave a Reply

