Decisions, Anyone?

I’ve decided to eat healthier, which means to me hardly any meat and very little dairy. I began today with some other areas to limit stuff, as well.

 

So, as I prepared dessert for a group meal, I had to decide. Gingerbread with whole wheat flour and the added chore of making homemade applesauce because we didn’t have any on hand, or making a gelatin with agar agar and fruit juices. I chose the gelatin for a few reasons and began around three o’clock in the afternoon for a 6:00 meal. After I poured the hot liquid into the bowls and added fruit, it suddenly occurred to me that when it was piping hot, it couldn’t cool in minutes. Especially the biggest bowlful, which had seeded fruits in it and only one person couldn’t eat seeds. Seeing as how the weather outside was frightful – I couldn’t resist, at almost 20 degrees Fahrenheit, (freezing is 32 degrees Fahrenheit), I decided to put them on the front porch and check often so they didn’t freeze.

 

Then, I realized that since I’d added half a cup of cranberry juice to the ten cups of sweet apple juice for color I may want to add some sweetener since cranberries are tart. I put in a small amount and tasted it. With the added fruit and the toppings, I hoped it would taste good to them and be good for us. One person said he liked it. I liked it, my husband did not. No one else said anything because they tend to be nice people and it wasn’t horrid, it just wasn’t like the commercial gelatins. It was still a little tart. I’ve heard cranberries help strengthen bones. 🙂

 

After we got home I noticed I felt a bit grumpy even though we had a good time. I know better than to start more than one major project at a time, but I’ve committed to two things and once I commit, I try my best to follow through.

 

The organizing thing is not requiring a lot out of me for the first two weeks of January and the author, Regina Leeds, said it goes faster if you’re able to make decisions quicker rather than slowly. I’ll see how it goes when I get to that point. She wrote, One Year to an Organized Life: From Your Closets to Your Finances, the Week-by-Week Guide to Getting Completely Organized for Good, copyrighted in 2008 and published by MJF Books, New York, NY if you haven’t read this blog previously.

 

We have a group started and books are ordered. So, we’ll go forward and see results. Sandra Felton has written helpful books on becoming less messy, and one of her quotes is, “The secret to success is making very small, yet very consistent, changes.”

 

I went to the internet to find her and got watching small videos on YouTube. The decision- making YouTube episode for getting rid of clutter is called, “Quadrant Method for Clearing Clutter,” 6:13 time or six minutes and thirteen seconds. That was helpful.

 

As I organize, I realize God is answering prayer. I don’t feel grumpy anymore since I started writing. 🙂

 

Do you struggle with decisions and/or second guess the ones you’ve made?

 

May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

