Times in Life

There are times in life when things come along that lift me up and on the same day another happenstance takes me by surprise and I find myself grieving.

So I grieve for a bit and then press on. Tonight we’re watching “Hope Floats” starring Sandra Bullock and Harry Connick, Jr. and Gena Rowlands, directed by Forest Whitaker and produced by Fortis Films in 1998.

What a tear jerker. I wouldn’t have chosen it but I was in the living room when it came on. Maybe sad movies act as a release for feelings in real life. They say violent movies have a cathartic effect on adults although for children violent videos produce violent children.

I know myself if I see too many heartbreaking shows and read too many sad stories I don’t have the emotional reserve to face loss in life. So I purposefully cut back on joy stealers.

Philippians 4:8 is one of my favorite verses in the New King James Version: Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is anything praiseworthy – meditate on these things.

Paul continues to say in verse nine, “The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.”

Jesus shared some last words with His disciples in John 16:33, “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

I hope God blesses you big time today.

Leave a Reply

