God Likes Change

Last night after I finished blogging and reading other’s blogs, I got ready for bed. My mind raced with people’s opinions and my opinions. It occurred to me that I ought to blog earlier in the day.

Within the last couple of weeks I blogged about eating at a home with many folks we didn’t know. The lady I sat next to turned out to be a professor. She mentioned the changes in education that may be coming under President Trump if Betsy DeVos becomes United States Secretary of Education. The professor said she knows principals who are experiencing Post Traumatic Stress Disorder over the chance that she’ll be nominated. This dinner and conversation took place before President Trump took office.

I don’t understand. Why would people become afraid before something even comes to pass? I told them that it’s a complicated situation that needs to be handled with a lot of wisdom and I was going to research so I could know more about it. They agreed.

Lately, I read two blogs with people upset over proposed changes President Trump said will come into being. One lady, a teacher from the South said she’s never been in a protest march but now she was going to march with women in Washington, DC in the million women march (which happened a few days ago).

As a Christian for many years now, I’ve noticed that even though I don’t always welcome change, my life is continually being nudged and sometimes shoved into new situations requiring me to adapt. At times, I’ve been the one to take a risk and embrace a challenge. Three homes ago, I told the Lord I thought I’d moved enough, thank You very much. I wonder if He smiled. I’ve heard it said that God loves me too much to allow me to stay the same. He wants me to become more Christ-like according to the Bible.

The Apostle Paul wrote to Timothy in 1Timothy 1:12, (CEV):  I thank Christ Jesus our Lord. He has given me the strength for my work because he knew that he could trust me.

1Ti 1:13  I used to say terrible and insulting things about him, and I was cruel. But he had mercy on me because I didn’t know what I was doing, and I had not yet put my faith in him.

1Ti 1:14  Christ Jesus our Lord was very kind to me. He has greatly blessed my life with faith and love just like his own.

1Ti 1:15  “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners.” This saying is true, and it can be trusted. I was the worst sinner of all!

1Ti 1:16  But since I was worse than anyone else, God had mercy on me and let me be an example of the endless patience of Christ Jesus. He did this so that others would put their faith in Christ and have eternal life.

1Ti 1:17  I pray that honor and glory will always be given to the only God, who lives forever and is the invisible and eternal King! Amen.

The Apostle Paul tells believers to walk in a manner worthy of their calling. In Col 2:5, (CEV) it says, “Even though I am not with you, I keep thinking about you. I am glad to know that you are living as you should and that your faith in Christ is strong.

Col 2:6  You have accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord. Now keep on following him.

Col 2:7  Plant your roots in Christ and let him be the foundation for your life. Be strong in your faith, just as you were taught. And be grateful.

Col 2:8  Don’t let anyone fool you by using senseless arguments. These arguments may sound wise, but they are only human teachings. They come from the powers of this world and not from Christ.

Col 2:9  God lives fully in Christ.

Col 2:10  And you are fully grown because you belong to Christ, who is over every power and authority.

Col 2:11  Christ has also taken away your selfish desires, just as circumcision removes flesh from the body.

Col 2:12  And when you were baptized, it was the same as being buried with Christ. Then you were raised to life because you had faith in the power of God, who raised Christ from death.

Col 2:13  You were dead, because you were sinful and were not God’s people. But God let Christ make you alive, when he forgave all our sins.

Col 2:14  God wiped out the charges that were against us for disobeying the Law of Moses. He took them away and nailed them to the cross.

Col 2:15  There Christ defeated all powers and forces. He let the whole world see them being led away as prisoners when he celebrated his victory.

 

So, it is my opinion that as Americans we should sit down with others of differing cultures and opinions and listen to one another.

I went to a parochial school until I finished eighth grade and then I went to a public school in a city in NY and then to a public school in a suburb in NY. Violence was beginning to encroach upon the peaceful students in the city school and we became a family that finally moved to the suburbs for my mom’s peace of mind and for our well-being. Violence begets violence.

When my mom reached her seventies, I asked her for a bit of wisdom. She thought a moment and then said, “Be ready for change. Life brings change all the time.”

Jesus offers peace and love and forgiveness and kindness. The fruits of the Spirit are in Galatians, chapter five.

May God bless you.

2 responses

  1. Col 2:8 Don’t let anyone fool you by using senseless arguments. These arguments may sound wise, but they are only human teachings. They come from the powers of this world and not from Christ.

    This is a really good and timely verse.

    There are a lot of people in the world who seem like they are just time bombs waiting to explode… so full of angst, bitterness, and anger.

    It’s good to see others who want to keep shining for the Lord, like you. Keep on spreading your goodness and love to the people around you.

Leave a Reply

