Colors

My daughter gave me a bar of black soap for Christmas over a year ago. It has African shea butter and sea salt in it which I found very soothing. It rested on a white soap holder which held fragments from a pink soap bar yesterday. The color contrast struck me with the polar opposite of shades.

When I lathered the black bar, the bubbles spread out gray and eventually turned to a sparkling white.

When I glanced back to the soap holder, streaks of black liquid streaked down the pebbly white surface and I recoiled a little. Then I reminded myself that the black streaks weren’t dirt streaks and I rinsed them right off.

photo from http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-YEAR-Roses-Rose-Flower-Orange-Yellow-Fragrant-Live-Plant-Bush-Bare-Root-/292007492486

I recently transplanted a beautiful grouping of roses with orange blossoms and a plethora of buds. The rose’s perfume was worth every second of my time as I stopped in the kitchen to inhale their aroma. But not too long after I bought them the leaves began to wither. What began slowly escalated.

Every bud shriveled and died, every mature blossom hung onto the brown stalky stems which used to be green. With their sustenance cut off their orange petals paled to a light cantaloupe flesh hue. Paper like with tan edges, the prettiest blossom gave up the fight for life.

The scent faded and then the exquisite smell disappeared.

Three of the tiny rose plants went into a pretty clay pot with stones for drainage and new soil. I watered them after I clipped all the dead wood away and removed every offending curled up and detached leaf.

I placed the most promising rose plant in its own pot, again with stones or broken pottery on the bottom for drainage and new potting soil.

The three plants in the bigger pot only have a few green twigs on one rose. The other two are browner yet. I tried to remove one but it seems entwined with the others.

I didn’t like seeing the dirt on my counter top after the transplant. That’s why the black soap trickling down brought dirt to mind so quickly. Sometimes what we see is not representing actuality.

Later,I tried to tug those “dead” roses apart but I didn’t want to fling potting soil around in the kitchen.

Jesus tells a parable of a farmer planting good wheat seeds into the ground. When his servant comes to him, he reports weeds that look similar to wheat have sprung up in the crop. The farmer says an enemy must have planted bad seeds in the furrows. Then he tells the worker not to pull up the weeds lest the wheat gets yanked out with them. At the end of the harvest they’ll be more distinguishable. The wheat will be set aside for use and the weeds will go into the fire to be destroyed. (Matthew 13:24-30)

That is what I’m doing for a season with the three rose plants. I’m watering them less and leaving them alone to see if any leaves will sprout on the one with the green stems.

The fourth rose plant went home with my daughter and I saw its few branches sprouting at least five forest green leaves today. “Live little plant and bring forth beauty and a sweet smelling aroma in your time.”

The enriching soap is called 100% Natural Black Soap w/ African Shea Butter & Sea Salt. Soapbox makes it and the package says “buy one & we give one to a child in need. Find out how at: soapboxsoap.com.”

My daughter likes to buy products that bless the poor. She knows I appreciate that too, so the gift is a win/win.

May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

