Companionship

My youngest daughter called me this morning to see if she could spend the day. I told her it was okay but I needed to work on the kitchen. She needed to do some paperwork, so that would be fine.

As I washed some breakfast dishes, she picked up the towel and began to dry as we visited. When I cleared off the refrigerator to clean it, she chatted as I removed some items off the top. After I washed the door, she asked if I wanted her to work on a spot I missed. Of course, I said yes. 🙂

She and I were both heading to a meeting to hear a Christian speaker we enjoy and they ask for a snack from the attendees. So, we made banana bread. She mashed the bananas she brought from home while I blended the sugar and shortening, etc.

I needed to return a book to the library that was due today and she stayed at my house to start her paperwork.

Christian Writers Market Guide 2017  (image from https://christianwritersinstitute.com/all-books/christian-writers-market-guide-2017)

Later, I ordered the 2017 Christian Writers Market Guide, published by Christian Writers Institute and a couple of 2017 market guides published by Writer’s Digest publisher F & W Media, Cincinnati, OH which I’d been meaning to get to.

When we reached the home of the lady hosting the speaker and the group, there was expectancy in the air. As a worship leader strummed her guitar and sang the first song, “How Great is Our God” by Chris Tomlin, many voices rose in reverence and praise. Two teenagers accompanied their parents, single folks and married couples attended, young to elderly folk interacted, Caucasian and African-American and one Jamaican held hands to pray. Some of the people have received the gift of prophecy from the Holy Spirit and words of encouragement or admonition were given in a loving manner.

I sensed a nudge from the Holy Spirit to pray for a lady that I’d never met before. Her throat was bothering her so I layed my hand by her neck and asked God to heal her throat and because I felt a lump I asked God to heal her thyroid. When we got done, she said that she’s been diagnosed with thyroid cancer but the medical community has told her to go elsewhere for treatment. She feels God told her He’s going to send many people to pray over her. I didn’t expect to pray for thyroid when I started.

One man was told that he has been empowered with the gift of bringing comfort to people, but that he needs to open his mouth and start speaking words of comfort to people. He hesitated so a pastor asked him to start right then if he pleased. He did and the speaker took hold of his hand and eventually asked his wife to take hold of his hand. They looked visibly moved.

I’m never sure what a day will bring.

This day was filled with more accomplished in the kitchen, a great day with part of my family and some special time with God in the Word and then in fellowship with believers I don’t normally run into. The speaker and his wife flew to NY from FL. I felt privileged to hear him share what God had been teaching him lately and to hear his encouraging words.

A different pastor read a Psalm and said it was for me. Then a man spoke about re-writing my novel. I don’t know if he was prophesying or just suggesting it, but he did say God would help me with it, so it might have been half a prophetic utterance. God knows.

There were a number of pastors there, now that I think of it and all from different denominations or non-denominational houses of worship.

May God bless you.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

