Health and Well-being

When I wrote about http//:www.soapboxsoap.com ’s Black Soap yesterday I neglected to mention that the box identified the product as detoxifying. I’m all for that.

I go to a dermatologist twice a year for a checkup since I overexposed my skin to the strongest sunshine over the years. I remember as a teenager soaking up the sun’s rays with an iodine/baby oil solution slathered on. A younger teen with the whitest skin I ever saw suggested the combination to enhance tanning.

I had my doubts and sure enough, I remember her in her bathing suit with blisters on her chest from the hours she spent in vain trying to darken her lily-white complexion.

I never stayed that long. Even as a young person I somehow knew that too much sun, too many cookies, long hours of reading with no exercise harmed health. Not that my friends or siblings listened to me. 🙂

In the New Testament, the Apostle Paul said in 1Timothy 4:8, (KJV):  “For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.”

Climbing Stairs photo from: http://www.freeimages.com/search/man-exercising

I don’t believe he means that we should neglect taking care of our body. I think he means we can get carried away with the outward appearance and our health, when God is more concerned with our inner person, our heart and soul and spirit.

I hope this finds you well!

May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

