Bits and Pieces

Today, I needed to wait for my husband at an appointment, so I decided to read the Bible. As I was reading, I thought the Lord was directing me to Ephesians 4 & 5. Then I read chapter 6 while I was at it. In chapter 4 it reminds Christians to walk worthy of the calling that God has given them.

After that, we went to a large grocery store to buy our lunch and then I’ve been busy doing this or that. I want to ponder the writing path God has for me. I have such a broad interest range and I’ve heard for years that a writer should have a niche. Possibly ten years back I felt sure that God wanted me to purchase a book at a bookstore in a mall by Peter Bowerman entitled, The Well-Fed Writer: Financial Self-Sufficiency as a Freelance Writer in Six Months or Less, copyrighted in 2000 and published by Fanove Publishing, Atlanta, GA.

The image is from http://www.wellfedwriter.com/ordertwfw.shtml  

I read about 75 pages and then gave it to my daughter for a while. I began an online course a couple of years ago on copywriting, again at God’s leading. I may need it someday, and I do work professionally as a writer and the things I’ve learned have come in handy. The niche writing that I’m contemplating is for magazines or novels or non-fiction books or writing for the internet.

So, the reason I entitled this blog as “Bits and Pieces” is because that’s where my thoughts and my actions have been today:

  • Driving to a city I rarely get to early in the day
  • Reading Proverbs and then in Ephesians
  • Stopping for one item at a large store – a rarity for me
  • Stopping at another grocery store and getting one item again
  • Stopping at church to hand off copies I made of sheets of goal steps in the morning to some ladies and hardly staying at all – another rarity
  • Cleaning dishes
  • Watching television
  • Going to the library and mostly working the new puzzle
  • Getting home so I could ponder the writing path
  • Watching more television
  • Reading two teenage magazines that I’ve been considering to write for, and then
  • Moving to a different room so I could blog
  • Yelling at my computer and then admitting that that was not helping and to repeatedly do the same thing was not helping either.
  • I tried a different thing and it worked. Yay!

I’ve been wanting to take time to be quiet and to think and to jot down any insights that hopefully alight in my brain, but I’ve been procrastinating. So, I think I have about ten minutes before my husband notes the time and asks the inevitable question – “What time are you going to bed, anyway?”

I hope your day has not been as filled with a scattering of responsibilities and stress and leisure and procrastination as my day has been.

May God bless you.

2 responses

  1. LOL – Sounds as if you are ready for the flowers of Spring to bloom in your garden of writing. My days are filled with scatterings all the time, but that is due to my mental illness. I can go from one topinc to another on the fly and never find my way back home. It’s exhilirating at best and confounding at the least.

    I am curious of what you think about the book by Boweman. I think I may have come across that book in my early days when I too was looking to be a professional writer. My mental illness, and the pills I am on to control it, have sapped me of my creative wordplay. I am stuck now sounding like a fifth-grader with equally simple words and phrases. But I still love to write. Just can’t get rid of the thrill of seeing something on the page.

    Remember, computers are bound to fail because they are mechanical., Don’t yell at them. They can’t hear you. Well, that’s not true anymore, is it? Okay, yell, but don’t let anyone know what’s going on. LOL

    I should like to follow you. But I do not see that option on your page. My you have been on here for seven years! Wow!!!! That’s cool! Please let me know how to follow you.

    • Hi! Thanks for the kind words. I don’t think you sound like a fifth grader. I like Peter Bowerman’s book – The Well-Fed Writer. I glanced through it because I haven’t read it in a while. He gives lots of insights to make it and he gives cautionary advice as well.
      As far as following me, I think there is a small blue word that says follow me? inside a rectangle with a plus sign on it. I usually see this on the right bottom corner of other people’s sites and then I click on it if I want to follow them. I get a notice that I’m now following them and their site will show up on my reader’s feed. That’s how it works on WordPress.com. I didn’t realize I’d been blogging that long. lol.
      My husband heard me yelling. He checked on me and then realized it wasn’t life threatening. 🙂 Praise God. I hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

