The Great Life Cookbook

cover2nd ed

 

I might have written a month or so ago about a vegan meal my husband and I got invited to partake of; we went with a friend. While there, we got to meet Priscilla Timberlake and Lewis Freedman, RD. She kindly offered my husband a cookbook she and Mr. Freedman co-authored. It’s for our church’s use. I will use it for potlucks and give the author’s the credit and when it is time for us to move on, I’ll leave it in the church kitchen. It’s entitled The Great Life Cookbook, 2nd Edition. It was copyrighted in 2013 and published by Coddington Valley Publishing, Brooktondale, NY. It does not have a Christian world view in the first few pages and the science behind the nutrition is excellent.

The back of the book directs the reader to go to www.GreatLifeCookbook.com for more information, (which is where I got the photo from) and www.facebook.com/TheGreatLifeCookbook .

I made a recipe using millet and cauliflower which I downsized because this cookbook is scaled for potluck dinners. It is easily divided down to family-sized meals. I noticed that I felt better than normal after eating this entree and then I found out that millet is a naturally alkaline food.

My friend said if I thought the millet recipe with cauliflower was good, wait until I try the Millet Croquettes with Orange Miso Sauce on page 168. She said they are delicious. She’s liked every recipe she’s tried so far and she’s had the cookbook a while now.

Tonight I tried to make a soup based on one of the recipes in the book using ingredients I’ve never used before: umeboshi plum paste, umeboshi plum vinegar, and brown rice vinegar. I used many of the ingredients from the Broccoli and Cauliflower with Tangy Sesame Seed Sauce recipe. I added a bunch of other vegetables and some other seasonings and put them in the Crock-pot. It needs a little something. I wish I knew Ms. Timberlake well enough to call her and ask for suggestions. 🙂

I started thinking about eating vegetables only, many years ago and we began by following the McDougall diet. My family and some neighbors were so concerned about my children not getting enough calcium for their bones, even though green leafy plants provide plenty of calcium. I’ve noticed lately that almond milk’s label states that their product gives much more calcium than cow milk. Anyway, we finally gave up and went back to our old way of eating and promptly started to gain weight and feel hungry and become less healthy. About fifteen years later, we were introduced to the Hallelujah diet and that was great but harder to follow. So we’re doing our best to eat more fruits and vegetables and whole foods with no preservatives and lots less of sweets, fats and animal products. Some days are better than others. 🙂

In the book of Daniel, Daniel and his friends asked their captor to please allow them to eat vegetables only instead of the king’s rich foods for ten days and then the eunuch in charge could decide if the young men looked healthy or not. The Jewish captives looked so much healthier, that the man in charge allowed them to continue with their simpler fare.

In the book of Genesis, God made food for Adam and Eve from the plants and the seeds only. It was after the world wide flood when God first allowed mankind to eat animals. Could it be because the plants were mostly washed away in the devastating waters?

Our teeth are better suited for eating vegetables according to The Hallelujah Diet founder, Rev. George Malkmus’ research on the subject.

May God bless you and protect your health.

 

 

Leave a Reply

