Time is of the Essence

photo from:http://www.visitdelaware.com/things-to-do/history-heritage/dupont-mansions-gardens/

Last Sunday at church, I felt as if the Holy Spirit was saying to be ready for the end of life for one or more of the attendees there. That they should be ready or as my husband says, “Keep short accounts with God.”

We all mess up. So, immediately make it right with God by repenting and then if possible, make it right with the person that got hurt by your actions, if that’s the case. I was considering God’s characteristics yesterday, and one of them is that He is a merciful God. He’s a loving God, as well.

Today at the nursing home Bible study we read Matthew 19 and then Matthew 20. Somehow, the conversation came up about God’s forgiveness. I think it was around the passage where the landowner hires workers at the beginning of the day, the earlier part, the middle part and at the end of the day. He paid the last workers first and they received a denarius. The workers that bore the heat and toil of the day expected the landowner to pay them more. He said, “Didn’t you agree to the wages I offered? Why are you jealous over my generosity?”

I got talking about the fact that the Jewish people knew God and were loved by God for many years before He reached out to the Gentiles in a bigger way. The Jewish people received the benefits from God: love, provision, acceptance, mercy and direction. They also experienced discipline, attacks from the devil because of them being God’s chosen people, self-sacrifice through obedience to God which is not always easy but makes for a better life, and occasional chastening when His people followed the Gentile’s gods and ways.

So, as we spoke about these things God’s response to repentance came to mind.

Isa_1:18, (KJV):  Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.

Isa_43:25  I, even I, am he that blotteth out thy transgressions for mine own sake, and will not remember thy sins.

Isa_44:22  I have blotted out, as a thick cloud, thy transgressions, and, as a cloud, thy sins: return unto me; for I have redeemed thee.

Mic_7:19  He will turn again, he will have compassion upon us; he will subdue our iniquities; and thou wilt cast all their sins into the depths of the sea.

I thought the Scripture that says God forgives our sins and throws our sins into the sea of forgetfulness was in the book of Isaiah. 🙂

When King Hezekiah was very sick, he said in Isaiah 38:17, (KJV):  “Behold, for peace I had great bitterness: but thou hast in love to my soul delivered it from the pit of corruption: for thou hast cast all my sins behind thy back.”

After this, God healed King Hezekiah.

God amazes me. He loves us unconditionally, but He is a judge and we must believe on Him and His Son and repent and let Him be our Master. That’s what He says in His Word, especially in the book of John. I think that’s why when people become born again, they are often directed to read the Bible and to begin in the book of John.

I hope this finds you well. This earth is only ours to visit for a short time and then we have the opportunity to live in heaven for all of eternity. That’s the promise in John 14:

John 14:1  Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.

Joh 14:2  In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.

Joh 14:3  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

winter walk near biltmore house photo from: http://www.goodsearch.com/search-web?utf8=%E2%9C%93&keywords=Biltmore+mansion

Of course, God’s mansions will far outdo any mansion man can build. Just look at creation and His animals and His people!

May God bless you.

 

Leave a Reply

