Quiet From Fear of Evil

The other day at our ladies’ Bible study we got talking about crime. One of the ladies mentioned that the previous owner of her house faced an intruder. Fortunately, it turned out okay, but that conversation led to thoughts of God and His protection.

One of our more elderly women moved out of a nursing home into an apartment where she’s able to live without assistance. She exercises and tries to eat healthy and she relies on God, which reduces her stress. She likes to tell us that she reads Psalm 91 almost every day. That is the psalm I included in a recent blog. It begins with the words, “He that dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.” Psalm 91:2 (KJV) says:  “I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.”

I noticed Proverbs 1:33 (KJV): But whoso hearkeneth unto me shall dwell safely, and shall be quiet from fear of evil.

There are things going on around us that may cause people to fear besides crime. Some people fear the loss of income if they look to the future and consider circumstances that seem stacked against them. Others may fear declining health or the loss of a loved one.

Our Bible study is following a book by Lysa TerKeurst which I’ve mentioned before, Uninvited, copyrighted in 2016, published by Nelson Books, Nashville, TN. We’re coming to the end of the book and plan on purchasing another of her tomes in the near future. There are so many good Bible study books out there, it’s hard to choose sometimes. What we liked about Lysa TerKeurst’s book was her vulnerability, the sense of connection, her use of common sense and mostly how she brings us back to God – always. The aforementioned senior praises her use of great vocabulary. Our twenty-something year old member uses some of the phrases the author pens that society is exchanging. Rarely, we have to ask her to interpret for us, or is it from comments the youngest gives that follow the reading time that needs interpreting? Hmm? So, I took a moment to scan and found a page where she mentions BFF, (best friends forever). I’m pretty sure the octogenarian didn’t know what BFF stood for. We all like this cross-generational mixing.

When the older Christians tell how the Lord helped them through a fire and the loss of everything, or how they kept their marriage together for seventy years and ten months, or how they survived not one divorce but two – it gives us hope that God will strengthen us for hurdles that come our way. The gal with the longest marriage may say, “We pledged to love each other for better and for worse. We celebrated the better and lived through the worse. We didn’t always like each other, but we never stopped loving each other.”

After all those years, he finally went home to be with the Lord and she’s learning about widowhood in her latter years. She never talks of being afraid. She tells of how good her church family and her real family are to her. She mentions the local housing that she now calls home and the pool table for the residents, the affordable meals provided in the dining room, etc. The local food bank also brings a truck full of donated items for the residents.

Anyway, if the ladies had fears, they didn’t say much about them as they listened to God’s faithfulness to one after the other sitting around the table. I enjoy hearing how people come through the ease and the storms of life. If things go too well for too long, I may get tempted to ignore God some. I don’t want to do that. I know enough people though, that even if my life were completely free of problems, some of their circumstances would come to my attention and then I’d be acting on their behalf if I could or should, and most likely praying. I can’t imagine life on this side of heaven being without problems and being an imperfect being, if the unimaginable happened for a nanosecond of time, I’m sure I’d get in there and goof it up. 🙂

I wrote two blogs last night and then my computer acted up. Sometimes I wonder if maybe that’s a good thing. So, I saved them and filed them and started a fresh topic tonight.

How do you find quiet from the fear of evil?

May God bless you!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

