Listening Skills

Eph_4:29 , (ESV) from the New Testament of the Bible says: “Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.”

I was going to start with some listening techniques I learned when I volunteered for an organization some years back. But, I wanted to be sure and mention us being kind to one another as we try to communicate.

Anyway this organization hired a lady with social work training. One I remember is reflective listening. An example: I hear my husband say, “I’m not thrilled with the idea of going to the Ida May Americana Restaurant.”

I say, “You’re not thrilled about going to the Ida May Americana Restaurant?”

I’m mirroring back what I heard him say. Then I bite my lip and wait for his response.

“They serve greasy and flavorless foods. I wanted to try that new international place that opened, overlooking the Falls.”

If I can keep quiet, he may tell me, “I really don’t want to go out to dinner with your cousin George and his wife, Lulu. He never shuts up and she wears that awful perfume and they don’t like spicy food – it’s perfect.”

I don’t have a cousin George with a wife Lulu and all of the above is made up. The first time I tried this it felt awkward, but it does help real communication evolve.

I hope you’re well. May God bless you.

 

Leave a Reply

