Why Call Me Lord and Not Obey?

My husband has been preaching about the Beatitudes lately and this morning my devotional time lined up with his talks. In Luke 6:46-49, (ESV), Jesus says: “Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you?

Luk 6:47  Everyone who comes to me and hears my words and does them, I will show you what he is like:

Luk 6:48  he is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock. And when a flood arose, the stream broke against that house and could not shake it, because it had been well built.

Luk 6:49  But the one who hears and does not do them is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. When the stream broke against it, immediately it fell, and the ruin of that house was great.”

As society presses us to conform more and more to its ways, we as people will find our lives crumbling around us when we go the opposite way of God.

I got a newsletter from Evangelist Dea Warford yesterday and he said that Fox television runs a commercial from the Ad Council showing two same sex people kissing and others clapping around them. The ad is called “Love has no labels,” and Dea tells us the announcer says, “Love is love.”

We stopped getting television some years back because the shows and commercials were offensive to my husband and me. He is a sports fan, so it’s been hard on him some days. We get Netflix and search to find wholesome shows.

We are not hiding ourselves from the world. What people believe, they act on. An acquaintance at the library over the past year adjusted to her husband deciding to become a woman.

Later, I asked her mom if she was going to remain married to him. She looked shocked. “Of course!”

The first time her daughter saw me after he published his name change in the newspaper to Joy, she lowered her eyes and gave me room to avoid contact.

We’d talked about marriage in the past. Once a year they talk and see if they’re okay. If they are, they remain a couple. I told her we made a commitment and divorce is never considered an option. We looked eye-to-eye, blinked a few times as we processed the different approaches and then went on our way.

Lately, I attended a writer’s meeting and she bustled around the room at the end. In a high-pitched voice, with enthusiasm I heard her speaking. “Joy did ….” “Then Joy said, ‘….’”

I couldn’t make out anything but the name from across the distance.

My husband asked, in the very beginning, “I wonder if he considered the medical risks of taking these sex-changing hormones?”

A bit later I heard him murmur, “I’d like to talk to him.”

Who knows, it’s a small world, as the saying goes.

It’s clear in God’s Word that He made each of us as male and female in the first chapters of Genesis.

What a slap in God’s face, fooling with one’s gender. I imagine they’re not considering God. They’re listening to their own thoughts and thinking of persuasive messages from the world around them.

Speaking of messages, I think God is telling me to write early in my day. Jesus said in John 10:4-5 (BBE):  “When he has got them all out, he goes before them, and the sheep go after him, for they have knowledge of his voice.

They will not go after another who is not their keeper, but will go from him in flight, because his voice is strange to them.”

Yet, Gideon asked God to prove he was hearing from God in Judges 6:36, (KJV):  Then Gideon said to God, If you are going to give Israel salvation by my hand, as you have said,

Jdg 6:37  See, I will put the wool of a sheep on the grain-floor; if there is dew on the wool only, while all the earth is dry, then I will be certain that it is your purpose to give Israel salvation by my hand as you have said.

Jdg 6:38  And it was so: for he got up early on the morning after, and twisting the wool in his hands, he got a basin full of water from the dew on the wool.

Jdg 6:39  Then Gideon said to God, Do not be moved to wrath against me if I say only this: let me make one more test with the wool; let the wool now be dry, while the earth is covered with dew.

Jdg 6:40  And that night God did so; for the wool was dry, and there was dew on all the earth round it.

God was not offended at Gideon. I ask God to confirm His still small voice when I think I’ve heard from Him and it always lines up with His commands in Scripture.

If I think God is telling me to kill someone – that is not God. If He wants someone to die, He can easily take their spirit from them without human help.

The devil comes to steal, kill and destroy it says in John 10:10 and Jesus came to give life and that abundantly. Those who embrace homosexuality and divorce their spouse destroy the security of their mate and if applicable, their children.

My acquaintance may be putting on a false, cheerful front with a transgender mate, but I imagine she’s shed a boatload of tears.

A friend in college got forsaken by her boyfriend. He told her, “I’ll either choose you or choose the homosexual lifestyle and she got rejected back in the 1970’s before I knew her. When I visited her at home, she turned on me and mocked me with some details I’d shared with her.

As we stayed apart until my departure time arrived, her mom asked if the problem arose from me or from her. I admitted it came from her daughter and she nodded her head as if she knew it.

His choice rocked her whole being and frankly it had nothing to do with her. She left college over that summer, so I never saw her or heard from her again.

I hope she healed from that rejection.

Over the years I’ve come to realize that when I follow Jesus and obey Him, trusting Him as best  I can, He upholds me during the storms of life. Godly choices keep me from experiencing the bedlam of worldly choices no matter how narrow-minded society calls me. I don’t have to taste from the yuck of life’s offerings to know they eventually bring about strife, death, over-emphasis on pleasing self, a lack of stability and well-being.

With God’s help I’ll call out to the Lord in times of trouble and obey Him along life’s way. A saying my husband had us repeat on Sunday, “I can’t do it without Jesus.”

Ain’t it the truth?

God bless!

11 responses

  1. For at least 40 years music & media has indoctrinated people into wrongful thinking and actions. I am horrified by what today’s 20 somethings think is not only OKAY- but none of our Christian business. All it took was 2 generations for us to get here.

    I try to remember that Gods rules of conduct are for His followers- and none of us were with out sin when we accepted Christ. Yet- by Gods own hand, we drew near to Him and we were convicted of our sins and forgiven.

    I pray this for today’s people- that we who are followers will not condemn and push away this generation by our calling out their sins- but instead draw them in to want to know God, so that He may cleanse their hearts and set them free.

    • God is a loving God and wants people in relationship with Him. What a privilege we have to get to know Perfect God, Honorable God, Amazing God. I’m asking God to draw people to Himself in ways that fits their temperament, their unique wiring, their incredible way of seeing the world. If He should see fit to let me be a part of that process, then I desperately want to do it in a way that lines up with His direction.
      I guess I say things that may be in someone’s face on occasion because so many times things are watered down to obscure any meaning at all. “God is love, we’re all okay, etc.”

      Anyhow, thank you for your insights. I pray almost daily for wisdom. I surely need it!

  2. Constance, it happened gradually with all the programming of society and the falling away from Yeshua and Father God. Father told us it would be this way in the end. Evil will be called good and good will be called evil. I have not watched much television and so called entertainment for many years now because of the things they were trying to sell the public which are contrary to the word of God. I saw how they were demeaning men and pushing woman power. Part of that is so women would leave their children unattended to become tax producers. More recent programming is that children are the adults and the parents are idiots. Once unheard of to mandate women register for the draft, has now become a reality. It was all part of the evil one and his evil of lawlessness, but many of mankind has chosen to do this. Without Father God and Savior they are free agents to be used on the battlefield of satan’s war against Father and Savior. Even if you look at many newer bibles, the words have been changed and messages diluted. (Example in NIV of missing verses Matthew 18:11 and also 17:21 among many in old and new testament). Few churches teach true power of prayer and fasting, identifying demonic battles, and instead preach tolerance, acceptance and political correctness. As you and your husband know, this battle will only get worse before Father comes to claim what is rightfully His through Yeshua. We are told to stand our ground no matter what and never fear. We have the Most High Father God and Savior as our champion over the things of this world. So as our savior taught us, so as you have received him, so walk in him. If we do not, then we were never of his flock in the first place. We shall know who is who by their fruits. And we are counseled to test the spirits and to be people of judgement and discernment. Knowing that these are unparalleled times of evil and deception, we must cling ever tighter to our Rock of Ages, our Refuge in times of trouble and pray Father hide us in his pavilion. We are not afraid of death and dying because we know we will still live and that we will be given immortal and incorrupt bodies when His work is complete. In peace and love we are still the light of Father upon this earth and will be until He stops restraining the power of darkness in this world for a brief time. Continue to do good things and show love and mercy, which is the will of our Father. We are the salt and the light until He determines otherwise.
    May our loving Father God and Savior give us discernment, fearless courage, love and continuance in obedience to Him forever. To Him be the power and glory forever.

  3. Personally I am on the fence with homosexuality and all of that. Why, you ask? Because I have brown hair and hazel eyes. What I mean is that my hair color is dependant on my dna. Whether I have blond hair and blue eyes is not my choice. I believe in science and I believe in the Lord Jesus. What I don’t believe is that God makes mistakes. Gay people didn’t choose to be gay. They were born gay. And that is a matter of DNA dishing out the genes. I have two friends that are gay. One is a male and the other is a female. The male friend I have known since childhood and he has ALWAYS been gay. We knew it back then we just didn’t have a word for it.

    I know this runs afould of what the Bible discusses. But science can’t be denied. I believe that the Bible has been misunderstand along the way and people have interpreted it wrong for centuries. Sure, there is a lot of stuff that is accurate. But I believe on this issue the Bible, as written, is wrong.

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by. I have heard my husband give an answer to some of your points. Many Christians don’t believe God created the universe in six days and rested on the seventh day. My husband has a scientific mindset, which I have to a much lesser degree. He believes evolution is not scientifically possible. As animals mutate to other forms, what’s to keep predators from eating them when they are in a defenseless state? So, he tells me that to pick and choose what is accurate in the Bible based on our understanding or the prevailing scientific thought, which has changed over the years, is a slippery slope to unbelief.

      Years ago, at a church we attended, a visitor who used to be the church secretary, gave a testimony. She married a man who used to be gay, but he attended a ministry in a southern state that helped people leave the gay lifestyle by trusting in Christ’s power. He told her he was completely delivered from a sexual attraction to men. They seemed to be okay. We moved and I haven’t seen her again, but if the Bible calls homosexuality an abomination to God, it makes sense to me that it must be sin.

      I too, know people that are gay. If they’ve cried out to God to help them overcome and haven’t been able to, I guess their only recourse is to remain celibate and ask God for strength to keep Him as first in their lives. Many unmarried people and possibly married people are celibate because of life circumstances. I’m not saying it’s easy, but it is possible.

      Some homosexuals choose the lifestyle because of abuse by heterosexuals or homosexuals, from what I’ve understood from their family members. It’s a difficult situation.

      I know a young person that grew up in the faith and recently found himself a male lover. I saw his picture on Facebook and I couldn’t believe it was him. I don’t think it was the angle of the camera that made him look bad. I think he’s in a battle and he looked miserable.

      Anyway, I am praying for him and for his family who are hurting for him.

      Thanks for giving your opinion. I’m sure we humans are missing some of what God is intending for us to know. Jesus continually corrected the Pharisees and they would get so irate! I talked to a homosexual once that I had given a clear cut explanation of the Gospel of Jesus Christ in a tract. When I spoke to them a few days later, the voice was so altered and creepy, I felt as if I were talking to a demonic presence. I have wished that I asked for a moment to collect myself so I could have prayed before continuing our conversation. That was our last conversation before he died. Hopefully, someone else or God Himself got through to him before the very end.

      I’ve been seeing tons of prayers answered lately. I think there is always hope.

      God bless you.

      • Thank you for your concerted reply. I know there are many miracles occuring here in the last days. God, alone, is our judge. We will answer to Him when all this is over. Until then, I will keep trying and trusting and questioning. I have heard many horror stories of “conversion therapy” where clients are hounded and abused in effort to cleanse them of the gay gene. I can’t say if it ever works, I’m sure there are some cases, but you can’t blame people for trying. Fear does a lot to a person. Fear of the Lord, misplaced, is a dangerous weapon. We should all strive to be the epitome of LOVE. Love like Jesus has for us. Love like God showed in giving His only begotten for our sake. With Love we can all be perfect.

        May the peace of God be upon you always.

  4. This is one scripture which I based my reply on Connie.
    1 Corinthians 5
    9 I wrote to you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people— 10 not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world. 11 But now I am writing to you that you must not associate with anyone who claims to be a brother or sister (c) but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or slanderer, a drunkard or swindler. Do not even eat with such people.

    12 What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? 13 God will judge those outside. “Expel the wicked person from among you.” (d)

    c.1 Corinthians 5:11 The Greek word for brother or sister (adelphos) refers here to a believer, whether man or woman, as part of God’s family; also in 8:11, 13.
    d.1 Corinthians 5:13 Deut. 13:5; 17:7; 19:19; 21:21; 22:21,24; 24:7

Leave a Reply

