Get Ready, Get Set, Go!

 

Earlier this week, I wrote in my planner for today, 8:00 a.m. appointment for a doctor’s appointment – that’s not earth shattering, Thank You, God.

Then I wrote, visit a friend – who had a stroke many months ago. She finally got into an apartment possibly eight months ago and I don’t see her very often.

I chose to shop today because my doctor was close to a number of stores, which is not the norm for me. After going to the second store, I called my friend to see if today was good for her. It turned out that she’d be available, so I set up a vague time frame. Then I received a text message. My brother and sister-in-law were going to be passing by and wanted to stop in to see me. I never turn those opportunities down if I can help it because I don’t see them very often.

I called my friend back at a convenience restaurant which was swamped with customers to see if she wanted me to get her a coffee I’d promised to pick up for her, since our time was limited. Her aide said she was downstairs waiting for me and finally the line began to move, so I told her I’d get the coffee after all and to please tell her I was running late. Then, my daughter called. She needed a favor. She has a part time job and her husband wasn’t going to be home in time for her to get to work. Could I please come and babysit for the eighteen month old under their care? That was for about a couple hours after my brother and his wife were due to get to the house and she lives a half hour away.

So, sad but true, my visit with my friend was short and I could feel the caffeine and the adrenaline causing my insides to race. She’s a little more distracted than usual since her stroke. She did laundry and had brought her lunch downstairs to eat while she did laundry and spoke to her aide and to neighbors and fit me in when she could. So, it was a little bizarre anyway.

When I got home, I brought a couple of the purchases inside and put them away and then I started straightening the house up. I lived next door to a lady in the early 1980’s. She did her housework early in the day and finished what she started and gardened for peace of mind and had a place for everything and everything in its place.

My sister-in-law keeps her house tidy and pretty, as well. As they entered I was extremely glad that I’d vacuumed the night before and put some things away. Yet, some things left undone stood up and shouted, “Look at me!” in my imagination. I stifled a groan, swept my arm up and around and said, “You’ll have to take me as I am.”

My gracious sister-in-law smiled and said, “We don’t come to see your house, we come to see you.”

What a sweetheart. Anyway, the phone rang and we couldn’t talk because my brother needed to exchange important information. Then he passed the phone to me, and then I passed the phone to her and then as the time conscious person that she is, almost immediately after she hung up the phone she told me it was time for me to go to my daughters’ house. I laughed about that and thanked her.

I drove to my daughter’s with the non-perishable shopping items in the car, began to babysit and his mother and grandmother showed up and I hung around making myself useful getting supper while she played with her son. I thought, as long as I’m here, I’m going to stick around. When my son-in-law came home, I visited a little and then went on my way.

Once home, I grabbed one of my many books on organizing, this one is entitled, Emile Barnes’15 Minute Home and Family ORGANIZER: Two Bestselling Works Complete in One Volume. Inspirational Press, a division of BBS Publishing Corporation, New York, NY published it in 1998 by arrangement with Harvest House Publishers, Eugene, OR because they had published separately, The 15 Minute Organizer in 1991, and 15 Minute Family Tradition and Memories in 1995 and they hold the copyright.Emilie Barnes' 15-Minute Home and Family Organizer by Emilie Barnes ...(photo from http://www.goodsearch.com/search-web?utf8=%E2%9C%93&keywords=Emilie+Barnes%27+15+Minute+Home+and+Family+ORGANIZER&button=)

These fifteen minute activities sometimes show up on a page and a half with a Scripture reference that is applicable right under the title of the chapter. Chapter 1 is “Goal Setting Made Easy.” Chapter 2 is “Establishing Daily Priorities.” After a day like today, I need  bite-size encouragement. I’m also going to end my day earlier than normal to the best of my ability. “Please, God, please!”

Has your day ever gone off in directions like water escaping over the top of a plugged sink?

I plan to blog tomorrow and intend to spend more time catching up with others through their blogs. I really enjoy seeing what other folks are up to. 🙂

May God bless you.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

