Unusual Week

I know people don’t have the same opinion as I do sometimes. Yet, I have to say, “God is good.”

My car acted up the other day, so I took it to the shop and they were so busy they couldn’t look at it that day. They checked it over and called experts and couldn’t get the problem to repeat itself. I don’t know how much time they spent. They drove it at least twice. They checked the wiring for a loose connection. When my husband drove me over, I asked how much I owed. “No charge.”

We’ve been customers of theirs for probably nine years now if not longer, but it’s that kind of service that keeps us returning. They know we use them for most of our automotive needs and we keep our cars until they’re not usable anymore. So as the cars age, they get more business from us in repairs. They practice integrity and we reward them by continuing on as their regulars.

That’s what author Stephen Covey called a win/win situation.

I found an exercising group for older folks at a local home for disabled and/or elderly adults today.

Last Saturday I hurt my back. It’s almost totally normal now, but when we did leg lifts from a sitting position in a chair, I thought, No way am I going to chance re-injuring those muscles. So, ladies in their seventies and eighties did most of the routine and I skipped at least a third of it. That humbled my pride. 🙂

My husband and I listened to Richard Wurmbrandt tonight, a Jewish man persecuted for his belief in Christ in a Communist country. He was in prison for 14 years and suffered terribly. Tonight I heard him say he felt bad that he got out after only 14 years. “Who will witness to the torturers if all the persecuted Christians get out?”

He’s 80 now. He got released years ago and almost didn’t leave, but the other prisoners told him to go and tell the world about Jesus and the fact that Christians are suffering for their faith.

How can I say that God is good when people suffer? Just because others choose to act in despicable ways doesn’t mean that God isn’t good. It means that what He has said about human beings is correct. We all fall short of His glory. That’s in the book of Romans.

We need Jesus to change us into less despicable acting folks. We needed Jesus to take our sins on Him so we can go to heaven and live with God, our perfect Father. God sees the overall picture. He’s good and He asks us to be a part of His kingdom, even while we’re still alive on earth. He wants us to represent Him – loving, kind, compassionate, just, merciful, giving so people will of their own accord come to faith and change their wicked ways with His help.

Richard Wurmbrandt really gets this and tries to let Americans and persons of other nationalities know this.

I hope lots of people will know that God is good, so they’ll turn to Him and receive His love and citizenship in heaven one day.

I’m ending here because I am really trying to sleep earlier at night. Last night, I was up much later than normal.

By the way, I’m going to meet a friend tomorrow to catch up with each other. I haven’t seen her in at least two years. Another unusual event and I’ll skip mentioning the rest.

May God bless you!

 

Leave a Reply

