A Plan Set in Motion

The rain drops sit on my husband’s windshield as if they’re glued droplets of glass.

I’m in the car waiting for him so we can catch a new action movie at the theater. Of course, I just made a cup of Rooibos tea, so I put it in a travel mug and I’m determined to wait long enough so I don’t burn myself on it.

Even the side windows’ rain drops are defying gravity. Hmm.

Anyway, I set my Life Plan from Michael Hyatt & Daniel Harkavy’s book, Living Forward: A Proven Plan to Stop Drifting and Get the Life You Want on paper today. The tome is published by Baker Books, Grand Rapids, MI and copyrighted by the authors in 2016.

Living Forward: A Proven Plan to Stop Drifting and Get the Life You Want  -     By: Michael Hyatt, Daniel Harkavy

(photo from https://www.christianbook.com/living-forward-proven-drifting-life-want/michael-hyatt/9780801018824/pd/018820?product_redirect=1&Ntt=9780801018824&item_code=&Ntk=keywords&event=ESRCG )

I copied the author’s empty ideal week template with Monday – Sunday across the top and time from 5:00 a.m. – 9:30 p.m. on the left column. I looked in their book at an executive’s schedule which didn’t match my lifestyle. He started about that early. I’ve heard my husband say I don’t even know there’s a 5:30 in the morning. Which I deny vigorously. I’ve been on vacation or headed to a meeting that required me to be in the car by 5:30 a.m. probably three times in my life. 🙂

I digress.

I copied the light green weekly sheet and started to put in my meetings and schedule for work and exercise, etc. My Sunday ended up on a second page and I just realized I never filled that one out, so after I blog I’ll go back to that sheet of paper.

The evening hours suggested family time, reading, planning and I grabbed that idea for me. I’m tired of blogging at 11:00 p.m. and then reading others’ blogs which gets my brain charged up and then I get to bed at 1:00 a.m.

So today, I figured 5:00 p.m. to start preparing a meal, then eating, and then cleanup. Time with family & reading & an early bedtime sounded great. When my husband asked if I wanted to go to a movie, I looked at my plan. Family time, etc. beginning at 5:00. So I said, “Sure.”

I read my Bible earlier in the day, ran some errands. I usually mark my calendar for shopping and stuff on Friday but today I realized that I really do my running around on Tuesdays. So, my ideal week reflected that.

I want more time to write than I planned, but if I’m consistent with what I chose, the words should add up. If my husband has meetings, I can grab pen and legal pad or sit at the computer when he’s away during family time.

I’m looking forward to a more structured life. Even if curveballs come my way, I have a reference point for decision making.

I forgot to schedule hobbies in, my lowest priority. I may have to sneak some time on the weekend.

I’ve been praying for wisdom and today I felt as if God’s Spirit whispered to me, Ask and you shall receive, seek and you shall find, and knock and the door will be opened for you.

What a wonderful God He is!

May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

