Grandchildren Went Home

photo from: http://www.best-childrens-books.com/oh-say-can-you-say.html

 

 

Well, the house is quieter and the neighborhood bereft of indignant squeals between siblings. We went to two libraries for books and videos and a bagful of puppets. Tonight I read, Oh Say Can You Say? by Dr. Seuss. It’s a BEGINNER BOOKS, A Division of Random House, Inc. and was copyrighted in 1979.

I wish we would have read it together. It made me laugh a tiny bit on my own as I stumbled over the phrases. Together we would have shouted with joy, I’m sure.

I hope it’s okay if I type a couple of pages. Minus the pictures it won’t have the same impact, but if you want to read these aloud, you’ll get an idea of the juxtaposition of words and the easy chance to mispronounce them.

“Pete Pats Pigs”

“Pete Briggs pats pigs.

Briggs pats pink pigs.

(Don’t ask me why. It doesn’t matter.)

Pete Briggs is a pink pig, big pig patter.

 

“Pete Briggs pats his big pink pigs all day.

(Don’t ask me why. I cannot say.)

Then Pete puts his patted pigs away

In his Pete Briggs’ Pink Pigs Big Pigs Pigpen.”

 

Isn’t that a hoot? Aren’t words fun? I give the typists at Random House Beginner Books a lot of credit. It wasn’t easy typing those words, let alone reading them. And the layout of pictures and the bright colors. It makes me want to buy the book for my grandchildren to grab ahold of, and maybe I will.

Grandchildren are just grand, fun to have around, makes me sad to see them go, and yet I sleep like a baby after they’re on their way. Not my problem to discipline them, just my job to love them and give their parents advice if they ask.

They receive my prayers, whether they know it or not. I receive their prayers and sometimes I get to hear them, which warms my innermost being.

I hope you are having a great day. May God bless you and yours.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

