Medieval Days

Product DetailsPhoto from www.Amazon.com

 

The Door in the Wall cover.jpg  photo from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Door_in_the_Wall_(novel)

About two weeks ago, I took my grandchildren to our local library. Then three days later, we went to another of the branch libraries.

While there, the six year old insisted on a chapter book like the oldest was getting. I said, “No, you’re not able to read it yet.”

It was close to supper time, Mommy was due to return the next day, they all had busy days so their patience was almost gone; mine, too, so I gave in.

We picked two middle grade chapter books for this kindergartener, which never got opened.

Before one of them came due I decided to read it. It’s a Newberry Medal winner entitled, The Door in the Wall by Marguerite De Angeli.

She wrote and illustrated it beautifully and had it copyrighted in 1949. It was published by Doubleday & Company, Inc. from Garden City, NY all those years ago.

I really like books about medieval times. I read one that I own, written and autographed by Ethel Herr, called Dr. Oma: the Healing Wisdom of Countess Juliana Von Stolberg (Chosen Daughter), copyrighted in 2006.

P & R Publishing from Phillipsburg, NJ published her book.

As much as I like reading about medieval times, I always think I’m happier living now. Women didn’t have much of a chance to live a life of their own choosing. Living in America gives me opportunities that other women may not have as well. I’m aware of that. Something else I understand is that I don’t really know what it’s like to be in situations outside of my ken.

No matter where I live, I’ve purposed in my heart to follow hard after Jesus. That will keep me as content as any human being can be this side of heaven.

May God bless you.

 

Leave a Reply

