I Love a Prisoner

 

I went to the library to return a couple of books and hopefully do some writing. I heard about an author I may like, so I took out one of her tomes, and as I reached the circulation desk I got a nice surprise. I ran into a young lady that started attending our church regularly and then stopped. I prayed I’d see her again. God answers prayer!

I said hello but backed off. She told me she’d call me tonight, so I said, “Okay.”

Just before going to the library, I wrote a letter to someone whom I love dearly. That person ended up in prison. As I jotted down my thoughts, I added a small amount of Scripture. Then I mentioned the verse from 1 Corinthians 2:12 (WEB): Now the natural man doesn’t receive the things of God’s Spirit, for they are foolishness to him, and he can’t know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

I had to hear over and over again that Jesus Christ, the Jewish Messiah, God the Son, came to earth for all mankind. He took on all the sins of the world – the spotless, sinless Lamb of God.

How could He stand it?

Now if we believe on Him, and repent, and receive His sacrificial gift of taking our sins, He’ll give us peace, freedom, heaven instead of hell, joy, love, kindness, goodness, meekness, strength and provision. He forgives us and asks us to forgive others so we don’t get bitter and poisoned inside. Once we make Him our Lord and Savior, the Bible becomes understandable to us. It may take us a lifetime to get through it over and over again. We may comprehend a lot of it. Yet, I’ll bet there are things I won’t get until I stand before my God and King in heaven and see what He wants me to see.

My husband and I got watching a movie tonight called “Hacksaw Ridge,” rated R for violence. It’s based on a true story of a Christian man who wanted to be in WWII as a medic as a conscientious objector and they didn’t know what to make of him.

My husband said, “War is ugly.”

When we go our own way and ignore God’s way, we are prisoners to self and the ruler of this world – Satan, even though we’re not aware of belonging to him. So Paul wrote in the New Testament.

After watching this movie, I know one of my duties as a Christian. I need to continue to pray for prisoners and for our troops and for my country and for folks around the world.

May God bless you.

One response

  1. Amen to that! So few really and truly understand the verse that reminds us that we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against wicked dark forces. Father God and Savior did not leave us helpless, for there is great power in prayer and fasting.
    Ephesians 6:11-13
    11Put on the full armor of God, so that you can make your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this world’s darkness, and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13Therefore take up the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you will be able to stand your ground, and having done everything, to stand.

Leave a Reply

