Writing for Good

www.createspace.com/LoginProc.do took me a little hunting to find today, because I wasn’t sure exactly what I was looking for in regards to self-publishing with Amazon.

My daughter and her good friend, a surrogate daughter to me stopped over the house today. My daughter wanted to see her friend and the new baby. They met around 10 years ago in the state of MO. Some years back, the young lady decided to leave the warm state of Missouri and come to the cooler climate of NYS.

Seems God wanted her here, because she settled in and eventually a young man came along and they got married. She went to college for graphic arts and I want to develop a website, so I told her I’d love to have her help. She agreed, so after lunch and visit time ended, I got onto a domain hosting site and then realized I’m not quite ready to take that step yet.

There’s more to starting a website than I anticipated. So, I decided to check out Createspace.com, an Amazon company and discovered that I’m not ready for that either. I’ve started writing booklets that people seem interested in, and I thought I’d do one at a time, but as I read the details, it appears booklets to books is not what they do. That may be only in the fiction realm according to an article I read by James Scott Bell in the May-June 2017 issue of “Christian Communicator.”

He talks about short stories published under Kindle Select by Amazon under the Kindle Direct Approach in his article entitled, “Short and Strategic” under the Marketing banner in the periodical. I need to get more information. I heard at a conference that an author needs to spend as much time on marketing as they do on writing.

The short stories need to stand alone and each one can be a chapter in a novel. If you get a chance, pick up a copy of the magazine from American Christian Writers. There’s more than I could ethically quote since it’s copyrighted. Each month or bi-monthly, I learn more on the craft of writing from the “Christian Communicator.”

My daughter ended up critiquing my first booklet. She only made a few suggestions so that encouraged me.

I know God says to seek Him and the kingdom of righteousness first and all the material needs we encounter will be provided for. That’s in Matthew 6:33. I am trying to do that, and making it happen more often because of making the effort.

May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

