Independent or Not?

God Will Make a Way    -     By: Dr. Henry Cloud, Dr. John Townsend
https://www.christianbook.com/god-will-make-a-way/henry-cloud/9781591454298/pd/454298

Have you ever been bombarded with the same information over and over again? I remember hearing preachers on Christian radio years ago and they all had the same message. I really didn’t think they got together and decided to put their unique spin on the exact topic. These pastors were from California and Texas and New York and maybe a Mid-western state. I asked a college professor if she thought God gave these various men and women the same idea to speak on. She thought they all got together and decided to talk about the similar passages.

Really?

In my biased opinion, the Holy Spirit gently led them to identical concepts. So what do I keep running into lately? Dependence on God. I heard it twice from two different pastors in church on Sunday–part of their sermons.

Then I read about it in Celebrate Recovery materials. Also, in a book I’ve owned for years and somehow didn’t read until lately: God Will Make a Way: What to Do When You Don’t Know What to Do. It’s written by Dr. Henry Cloud and Dr. John Townsend. Integrity Publishers, Nashville, TN published it in 2002 and the authors copyrighted it that year. Their dedication says, “TO ALL THOSE WHO ARE LOOKING FOR GOD AND THE WAY THAT HE PROVIDES FOR US.”

I like to think that I depend on God, but when I look at my life I realize that sometimes I depend on God. Other times, I set my mind to do a certain task, start out with gusto, and then begin to slow down, falter and end up put-putting like a little car in a cartoon running out of gasoline. Completely stalled and occasionally bewildered.

So, I keep running into the advice and even give it out, “Spend time with God first and then make your plans.”

I noticed today that I had a stinky attitude and then I started reading in the book of Job. Even though it can be a downer to read all of what Job went through, I felt so much better just having spent some time in God’s word.

I’ve picked up some new habits and my husband helps around the house, so my organizing is going better and the meetings for support help, but I’m losing enthusiasm. I’ve decided I need to ask God wholeheartedly to help me with this like I’ve done over the years for other situations when I knew I couldn’t change on my own. I just couldn’t. I’m totally dependent on God even when I don’t realize it or when I don’t want to acknowledge it. I need to get over the idea that I have control over anything. I don’t. Sigh. 🙂

Well, that’s it for tonight. God is good and He’s in control. May He bless you big time. 🙂

4 responses

  1. You got it sweetie! We all must make sure we sit before him early and be filled with our daily bread and his refreshing living waters. The things in this life can easily distract us and pull us down like a net into deep smothering waters. Before anything…our love relationship with Father God and Savior must be our primary focus. Without his strength and encouragement, we can only tread water. But with his power working in us, we can walk on the waters. I tell myself, never look down or around and keep my eyes and head lifted up. Sometimes we have to regroup and that’s okay too. But I will tell you this, I appreciate your sharing praises, blessings and even struggles, because then I can praise Father too and I can pray and ask Father to lift you up and strengthen you when you need it. We are all the body and we all need one another. Blessings sister and know for certain, this woman takes your needs to Father God and Savior as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

