Results of Organizing

I decided to put some papers in a box when I cleaned a room to get them out of sight and out of mind. While watching television tonight with my husband, I asked him if he’d carry the box into the living room so I could sort through the stuff. Turns out it wasn’t that heavy. 🙂

Anyway, I’ve been going over in my mind the times when I worked my last job. My boss and I had similar flash points with anger. If things weren’t going smoothly, I’d pray and hold back and eventually something would come up that demanded a response and then I’d state my position. I’ve been thinking and saying, “I wish I’d kept quiet. I wish I’d been a better witness for Christ.”

As I went through this box tonight, I found a piece of paper where I wrote out a conversation with my boss where she let me know that she expected better of me. I told her my reasoning and the lack of training on one of the machines. She said I should have sought out the training. Good point. The more I read, the more I understood that we communicated better than the memory of the exchange led me to believe. I felt weeks earlier that the Lord released me from the job. Maybe the heat turned up some so I would want to leave.

I remember a pastor telling the congregation that people don’t change until it gets too uncomfortable to stay the same. I knew God wanted me to write, but to head out without the assurance of a steady paycheck stopped me. What if I couldn’t get assignments from magazines or customers looking for a wordsmith?

I thank God for helping me to stick with organizing. Not only does it feel great to get rid of the excess taking up room and lingering in my subconscious, but I find things that help me along life’s pathway. I can let those thoughts about my job go.

Also, somethings I thought I would use one day have lost their appeal and they really are worthless.

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

