Could You Ever Become Homeless?

 

The Sign Painter(Photo from: http://www.simonandschuster.com/authors/Davis-Bunn/45097965 )

I recently read The Sign Painter by Davis Bunn, copyrighted by T. Davis Bunn in 2014. It’s the story of a woman with a five year old daughter. The summary offered by the publisher states: “A young mother struggles to get back on her feet after a devastating loss leaves her and her daughter alone and living on the street.”

 

Howard Books published this tome; they are a division of Simon & Schuster, New York, NY.

 

I know a lady that lost her husband to a deadly disease and the medical expenses wiped them out. She moved to New York from Florida because she lived in the northern state as a child and as a young adult at least. I don’t know what happened to cause her to live on her own once her husband passed away. She has some family in the area.

 

It took some time for this friend of mine to regain her footing. She went from one place to another. Now, she has her own apartment and she volunteers in a handful of places to be of use and to fill her time. A Christian auto repair person discovered she didn’t have a car, so they’ve leant her one to use. This family pays for everything for her except the gasoline. She beams with gratitude.

 

I wasn’t sure I wanted to read this book, but Davis Bunn is one of my favorite authors. He tells a story with people based on real events in our world in such a compelling way that I knew I wanted to engage with the characters. I just waited a couple of days after I got the book to adjust to the idea. I didn’t know what the novel was about from the title. I chose it based on the cover and the author.

 

I’m on the third book in the series by Jim Cymbala called Fresh Power. The first two books are entitled Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire and Fresh Faith. Dean Merrill is the co-author of the volumes and Zondervan published Fresh Power in 2001 and it was copyrighted by Jim Cymbala in 2001.

Fresh Wind, Fresh FireFresh FaithFresh Power(Photos from: (https://www.christianbook.com/fresh-power-jim-cymbala/9780310251545/pd/251540?event=Christian-Authors|1006349)

Fresh Power is a non-fiction book documenting the ability of the Holy Spirit to move on people’s hearts and lives for the good. The life events that drew some to Christ seem so overwhelming, yet a way opens up for them to find hope and practical steps that kept them on a new path.

 

The Sign Painter is a fictional account of individual’s becoming desperate and it shows how they cope with their plight. Some choices work out well. Some folks turn to people and habits that only make things worse. The Sign Painter represented real quandaries that could come our way. I don’t think I’d ever have to live on the street, but one never knows. Many homeless never dreamed they’d end up without a postal address and/or a job.

 

When I see what a person does in trying circumstances, I’ll wonder why they took that action. It seemed clear to me that they were heading for trouble. I don’t know the whole story. Oftentimes, I don’t have permission to speak into their lives. That’s the benefit of reading life-like situations in books. It gives me time to meditate on how I might handle certain situations. Davis Bunn’s book had a number of questions about the novel for those interested in participating alone or for a book club to ponder after the end of the story.

 

If you haven’t read Davis Bunn’s books or Jim Cymbala’s real life anecdotes, you might want to try them out. You never know how God may use them in your life.

 

May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

