Mayonnaise Cake

I spent a significant amount of time planning and thinking about not drifting, as Michael Hyatt and Daniel Harkavy suggest in their book, Living Forward: A Proven Plan to Stop Drifting and Get the Life You Want. The tome was copyrighted by Michael Hyatt and Daniel Harkavy in 2016 and published by Baker Books, Grand Rapids, MI. I followed a lot of their steps except for the follow through.

So after considering their advice I grabbed a form from a now defunct Eagle planning system that I copied for my own personal use which asks the question, “What do you want to do, to be, to have, and what will benefit others?” Each category represents 10 points. Those answers that merit a 40 become the priority. When I listed blogging, on the next line I put down food, marriage, health, etc. for items to blog about possibly on the same day of each week.

Since I just finished making a mayonnaise cake for a gathering tomorrow, I thought I’d show a picture of the unfrosted cake and give the recipe and some hints for a successful attempt at baking.IMG_1926.JPG

Mayonnaise Cake

3 cups unbleached non-GMO white flour

1 ½ cups sugar

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa

2 ½ teaspoons baking powder

1 ½ teaspoons baking soda

Sift these items together in a large bowl.

Stir in:

1 ½ cups mayonnaise

Blend in:

1 ½ cups water

1 ½ teaspoons vanilla

Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit in a metal pan or 325 degrees Fahrenheit in a glass 13x9x2 inch pan.

My youngest sister said to bake for 30 minutes and don’t check for doneness, but I’ve had it fall in the center. It makes it very gooey. Lately, I asked a great baker, Mr. William D., and he told me to cook it a little longer. So, I’ve added about five minutes or so.

This cake is actually a recipe and a half in a 15x11x2 inch glass pan and I baked it close to 40 minutes. I closed the window to keep a breeze off of it. So far it hasn’t fallen. Phew!

It’s tasty and with mayonnaise, the eggs are already cooked, so if it falls in the middle, we eat it anyway and consider it almost as a fudge center or a moist brownie.

I make a butter cream frosting that I’ve made since my teen years, so I don’t have exact dimensions. I may use 2 cups of confectionary sugar with a dash of salt, a small capful of vanilla extract, possibly three tablespoons of soft butter or shortening, (I use butter), and a dash of milk.

If it’s too soupy I add more sugar and if it’s then too sweet, I add a tiny amount of salt. If it’s too thick to spread with a knife, I add a touch more milk.

Wait for the cake to completely cool down before applying the frosting.

I don’t recommend having this dessert often because it’s rich and filled with calories. It’s not a light cake. For a special occasion, it’s mmm good. Nice and moist and it doesn’t require any greasing of the pan. I usually have the ingredients on hand.

May God bless you as August moves right along!

Leave a Reply

