Discipline

Do you ever wonder why discipline comes easier in the areas that you like the most. If I’m in the middle of a good book, I’ll finish that book regardless of all else. With my daughter’s wedding taking scads of time and mental and physical energy, I haven’t had time to read.

Now that the pressure is off, I’ve started reading my renewed library books every where I can squeeze in a few moments. Washing dishes with my right hand, book in my left hand, nose to the page unless I’m quickly checking for dirty spots I might have missed.

I tend to be able to keep my weight in a range of ten to twenty pounds above the best weight for me at the most because if I get too heavy I don’t feel good. My body screams at me and then I start automatically cutting back. It’s just the way God made me.

My older sister always cleaned and baked and made baby clothes for her children that she expected to have four years or more later when she finally met her fella. Her house is usually clutter-free. That seems to come naturally to her.

I love reading about the fruits of the Spirit in Galatians 5: 22, 23. Self-control is a promise from God as we continue following Him and growing in Him and allowing Him to change us. Sometimes I wish I would cooperate more with Him. I get tired of the same old battles, same rotten choices that impact my loved ones and me for the worse, and sometimes others as well.

On the other hand, sometimes I’m completely delighted to see that something I’ve been disgusted with isn’t around anymore. My attitudes are better now than they used to be. I think I’m less selfish than I used to be. I don’t trust myself to know myself, but occasionally I’ll ask Craig if he sees any improvement. 🙂

Then I try not to think too much about it, because I get afraid I’ll slide right back into the wrong way of thinking and behaving. Also, I don’t want to take any credit for it and get all puffed up.

How do you find discipline for the areas that take extra patience and determination? Or do you hire out the jobs that bring angst or tears? Just wondering.

My husband asked me tonight if I thought I’d ever get all the dishes done. Reading a book and washing dishes definitely slows down the washing time. Yeah, I’ll get them done. I just have a few more chapters in my book. 🙂

Now if I could only get on a schedule with my writing. It’s in my mind to do so, that’s the first step.

2 responses

  1. I think that’s God can definitely work out any fault in us, but it is in His timing and our will to endure to increase our faith in whatever area we strive in. Until that time His blessed grace covers us and urges us to keep trying. What a Father we have :). My husband has self control made of the toughest steel, and I have had to learn with Gods help. However, my faith has typically proven to be stronger than his. We are all so different and as such we have different struggles.

Leave a comment