A Time to Write

Ecc 3:1 (ASV) For everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven:

This week I finished reading the last two issues of the “Christian Communicator” magazine. They are hosting a fiction writing contest for a fee, with prizes.

In the marketing section I found that Chicken Soup for the Soul book publishers are looking for two different topics for articles due by June 30.

So I wrote an article two days ago and recently found a Chicken Soup for the Christian Soul book on my bookcase to read samples of their published pieces. Granted, it’s copyrighted in 1997, so I’ll need to check out current copies for the best examples.

The story I read today brought tears and by the end of the narrative, reminded me that people can change for the good.

Can I show and not tell in my own true story?

I read a few pages of Cecil Murphey’s book, Writer to Writer, published by OakTara Publishers and copyrighted in 2013. Each page presents a lesson learned over his lifetime as an author. I’m thinking his advice will help with the article I wrote.

I’m letting it rest, as I’ve mentioned before as a tip for better writing. I forced myself to write without editing and promised myself I’ll go back to re-write it.

I also spent time going through two market guides, one secular, one Christian. My file cabinet is bulging with articles that need tweaking, but hold nuggets of truth I believe will bless others. Also, I intend to query editors before sending manuscripts out blindly. My dad used to tell me to work smarter, not harder.

My life is on a different course at the moment and I’m reminded that time to write is a treasure to be grasped.

Colossians 3:23 (KJV) says, “And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily as unto the LORD and not unto men.”

With that in mind, I intend to move forward with the skills I’m learning and leave the results with the Lord.

God bless!

Leave a comment